Kill Switch - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 05:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kill Switch

So I know there have been a few kill switch threads here already, but they don't seem to have quite what I need.

So, basics of the car: 1973 Dodge Charger. Pretty much completely stock, 318ci. The coil is mounted pretty much on the backside (read: near firewall) of the intake manifold. There are 3 small wires coming off it: brown, black and yellow, and bluish green. There is also the wire to the distributor.

So my question to you: I would like to install a kill switch (toggle would be preferred), how would I go about that? Also, what amps and volts will I need?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 05:36 PM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,888
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbolf
So I know there have been a few kill switch threads here already, but they don't seem to have quite what I need.

So, basics of the car: 1973 Dodge Charger. Pretty much completely stock, 318ci. The coil is mounted pretty much on the backside (read: near firewall) of the intake manifold. There are 3 small wires coming off it: brown, black and yellow, and bluish green. There is also the wire to the distributor.

So my question to you: I would like to install a kill switch (toggle would be preferred), how would I go about that? Also, what amps and volts will I need?
You would need a 15 amp switch wired to the 12v+ side of the coil.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 05:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does having a higher amperage hurt at all?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 06:49 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
The term KILL switch is used when discussing a magneto ignition system. A magneto is driven by the engine and generates high voltage internally from rotation. To stop a magneto ignition it needs to shorted to ground to stop the high voltage.
Your system requires an ignition switch. This switches 12 volts to the + terminal of the coil.
Any switch rated 15 amps or more can be used.
The 1973 mopar, if it has a point type distributor, may use a ballast resister in the ignition circuit that powers the coil in the run mode.
A seperate wire from the starter solenoid also runs to the coil 12 volts + to provide full 12 volts during cranking.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 06:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicrod
The term KILL switch is used when discussing a magneto ignition system. A magneto is driven by the engine and generates high voltage internally from rotation. To stop a magneto ignition it needs to shorted to ground to stop the high voltage.
Your system requires an ignition switch. This switches 12 volts to the + terminal of the coil.
Any switch rated 15 amps or more can be used.
The 1973 mopar, if it has a point type distributor, may use a ballast resister in the ignition circuit that powers the coil in the run mode.
A seperate wire from the starter solenoid also runs to the coil 12 volts + to provide full 12 volts during cranking.

vicrod
Thanks for your help. As you can probably tell, electrical isn't my speciality.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also, what wires should I use?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:14 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
I don't know what you are doing.
If you install a separate ignition switch how will you start the engine?
Is the existing ignition switch bad?
If so how do you know it's bad?
To many unknowns.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2010, 07:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would like to install a toggle switch that interrupts the signal from the ignition switch (with the key) to the coil. Theft deterrent. Turn it off, the car won't start.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:10 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,338
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
OK.
You need to find the wire that comes from the fuse block to the ignition switch.This is the main feed to the ignition switch.
Cut this wire and connect the "theft switch" terminals to the cut wire ends.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:40 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,324
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
Kill switch

I put kill switches in between the battery and the starter, that kills everything, or you can put one between the battery and the ignition, of course you have to use bigger than toggle switches, the wire from the fuse board Ignition switch is a # 14 wire But if you want to tap into it to prevent theft you will have do do it where it can't be found easy or they can just go around it.

later 35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:44 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,192
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
The easiest and safest way to install a kill switch on that car is to get a toggle switch, connect one terminal to ground and the other to the negative terminal on the coil. The car will not start while the switch is closed. This is better than trying to interrupt the feed as that can easily be defeated by connecting a jumper wire to the + side of the coil. Also if the switch fails the car wont start.
If you do a clean job my way it is almost undetectable. I did several of these and usually put them under the seat or in the glove box.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 03:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
The easiest and safest way to install a kill switch on that car is to get a toggle switch, connect one terminal to ground and the other to the negative terminal on the coil. The car will not start while the switch is closed. This is better than trying to interrupt the feed as that can easily be defeated by connecting a jumper wire to the + side of the coil. Also if the switch fails the car wont start.
If you do a clean job my way it is almost undetectable. I did several of these and usually put them under the seat or in the glove box.
At the risk of sounding like a complete moron, how do I connect to ground? Mechanical I can do, electricity has always eluded me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 04:03 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,324
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
kill switch

That is if you use a coil, I was thinking HEI. But that will work, the idea is to hide it.
I had a 63 chev. 409 425 H.P. and I had the air cleaner valve, covers everything factory chrome stolen once, so I put a kill switch on it. Had to take it to the shop, forgot to tell them I had a kill switch, which I hit every time I got out of it. The bill to find the kill switch was twice what it was for whatever I took it in for.

later 35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 04:10 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,192
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbolf
At the risk of sounding like a complete moron, how do I connect to ground? Mechanical I can do, electricity has always eluded me.
Either find a convenient screw that is attachect to the body close by where you want to put the switch or drill a small hole in a metal body part a use a sheet metal screw and a couple washers. Put the wire between the washers to keep it from trying to spin the wire when you tighten it
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2010, 04:12 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,324
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 60 Times in 51 Posts
kill switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbolf
At the risk of sounding like a complete moron, how do I connect to ground? Mechanical I can do, electricity has always eluded me.
Take a #14 wire and run a wire to ground you have to put a terminal on the wire make sure where ever you ground it it has some bare metal or a good scew that you screw in.

35 terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kill switch question... cutthroatkid Electrical 2 11-22-2009 01:42 PM
Roll Bar Install Advice Mustangsaly General Rodding Tech 12 12-02-2007 08:33 AM
Wiring a kill switch hallamwillis Electrical 17 02-19-2007 05:25 PM
Emergency Kill switch question Mrfixmaster Electrical 14 12-08-2006 05:52 PM
kill switch shineoneforme Electrical 1 02-04-2005 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.