kill switch with a self-resetting circuit breaker? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:01 AM
garinhash's Avatar
Transform and Roll Out!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kill switch with a self-resetting circuit breaker?

my mother and i are going to install kill switches on 2 cars(one of my cars, one of her cars).
its the kind of kill switch that has a large removable red key.
mostly so the battery of both cars don't die out when they aren't being driven for lengths of time(especially during the cold).

I'm not sure on the exact year, but one needs to be installed on a mustang of the 19791993 body style.
the main issue i see with this car is that the car needs a current running through it for the radio, clock, alternator(i assume the alternator needs a current).
the second car is my 57 Chevy no working clock or radio in it currently so a constant current is not needed for it atm.

i have read about people wiring a self-resetting circuit breaker(10-15 amp) to bridge between the kill switch to allow a current to still keep the radio and clocks set.
is this a good idea? does anyone have more information about wiring a self-resetting circuit breaker between a Kill switch, what i would need, where i could get parts?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:12 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Why not just buy some Battery Tenders to put on the cars when not being driven? Your suggestion seems like an over complicated answer to a simple problem.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 66
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
a better plan is find the batt drain problem and fix it!!!

sitting in the garage the mustang radio presets/clock/maybe the cpu only draw "milliamps" (1,000th's of a amp) to operate....
ex: a wrist watch works for 2 years (?) with just that tiny batt inside....

57' should be 0.000amps just sitting (but any wiring harness can have minor voltage bleed,,,very common in old harnesses and switches)

here's a "how to" link:

http://www.aa1car.com/library/battery_runs_down.htm

(click on the "auto repair library" link at the top of the page takes you to a master articles listing access to repair anything on a car!!!!)

on the 57',,, a $7? batt neg cable quick disconnect from your local store is just so darn handy when working on the electrics and is a 100% effective "kill switch"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:05 PM
Joe G's Avatar
It's a dry cold.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 622
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 100
Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
If the Mustang has a cig lighter or power point that stays hot with the key off, you can get a battery tender that plugs right in there, so you don't have to monkey around under the hood.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 04:09 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Yep, much simpler that trying to rig something up.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2009, 04:19 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,648
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 173 Times in 158 Posts
Actually, you can now buy the disconnects that go right on the battery terminal with a small fused bypass wire (like 3 amps or so) to retain memory and clock functions when disconnected. The small fuse will burn out if someone tries to start the car.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 10:39 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Doesn't having a self-resetting circuit breaker sort of defeat the purpose of having a circuit breaker?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 03:47 PM
garinhash's Avatar
Transform and Roll Out!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california
Age: 29
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rotor Flap
Doesn't having a self-resetting circuit breaker sort of defeat the purpose of having a circuit breaker?
by using a self-resetting circuit breaker instead of using a fuse means instead of blowing a fuse and having to replace the fuse the circuit then resets itself, not needing to buy alot of fuses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Let me be a bit more blunt.

There is no such thing as a self-resetting circuit breaker.

Think about it.

If something, a short circuit, trips a breaker, how could it possibly reset itself without;
1. Instantly tripping again... and again and again and again... unremittingly towards perpetuity.
2 Sending out a crew of little green men to repair the short so the self-resetting breaker doesn't #1 above.

Circiut breakers can be manually reset by the pilot ....or driver, as it were. but the F-ing things don't reset themsleves; ergo such a device would be defeating the purpose of said, such a device.

Want to learn something about circuit breakers? Study the purpose of the Master Caution annunciator in aircraft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:08 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You can also buy a solar powered battery tender that trickles to the battery that plugs into the cig. lighter or acc. power socket. You set the panel on the dash but, it only works for cars parked outside.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:31 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OLD ROTOR FLAP, There is a self resetting circuit breaker that comes in International semi trucks that break when they get hot and will reset when they cool off. I don't think it is the type that will work for what he want's
but I encountered them after my running lights kept going out while driving down the road and after pulling over and sitting for a few minutes and shutting the lights off they would come back on after the breaker would cool off. As you stated they would just keep resetting over and over again. A new breaker (plug in type) and removing the cover from the breaker circuit board behind the glove box helped keep it cooler and I had no more problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 09:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KDH
Posts: 74
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you are just trying not to run the battery down, a battery tender is the better way to go. It will extend the life of the battery.

But if you use the set up in the first post, you can not start the car but it will keep the memory in the radio and any other low current draw devices.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 66
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
old rotor,

there are indeed "auto-reset" and "autorestore" breakers

http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/d28.html

because just a isolated "momentary" spike condition upstream can occur (spike from the alt)

having a "instantly" accessable manual reset breaker is not always possible (on a power grid)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:49 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sqzbox and Red65mustang, I spoke too soon. I stand corrected. Thank you for the education.

Somewhere in what's left ot those little grey cells is the name of a device that opens on temperature and closes when temperature returns to normal, etc. No Paris, not the thermostat.

A simple temp sensor like that used to control an electric fan would be similar.

Almost like a thermister.... it may come to me.... or not

Thanks again gents.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2010, 12:03 PM
Rickracer's Avatar
ASE Master Tech, Fabricator
 
Last wiki edit: Taurus 2-speed fan control wiring diagram Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 937
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Old Rotor Flap, the most common OEM use of the type circuit breakers being discussed, ("self resetting"),is for power seats and/or power windows in Ford and GM cars,
Many Ford and GM headlight switches also have them incorporated into the switch unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electricially actuated kill switch that may be NHRA LEGAL?!? Scrumgees Electrical 5 07-15-2009 04:46 PM
57 nomad kill switch help needed garinhash Electrical 1 03-14-2007 03:47 AM
Gas Guage and Kill Switch question Bo_Jangles Electrical 9 05-01-2003 10:54 PM
What is the best way to put in a kill switch? fireschenie Electrical 12 02-01-2003 08:34 PM
Kill Switch Question PrimaDude Electrical 4 12-22-2002 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.