Hot Rod Forum banner

Know about T bucket kits? step inside

16K views 29 replies 17 participants last post by  68NovaSS 
#1 ·
A neighbor of mine is interested in building his first street rod.

He saw a few t-buckets at Good Guys this last weekend and had the bug bite him:)

He is looking into kits to get started on his first build.
I have no background in this type rod, always been a muscle car guy.

Any info you can share for me to pass along would be appreciated.

I do know he took home a Speedway catalogue and is giving it a good look over.

Thanks!

#4 ·
If he can find an original Total Performance 'kit' that is a left over, a roughly built car or an abandoned project, that might be one way to jump into the fray. Also, another that I've heard some talk about is a 'kit' from Spirit Industries (Spirit T-Bucket Parts and Turn-Key TBucket Cars - Home - Spirit Industries). As far as Speedway - they are selling a Total Perf. design as well as, I believe, their own - most Speedway 'buckets I've seen leave, IMHO, a lot to be desired. Then of course, look here at the National T-Bucket Alliance : T-Buckets

#9 ·
Tbucketeers

The Tbucketeers web site also has a lot of Info, One of my T bucket bodies was built in 1916 By Henry Ford ReAL Steel. , one of the Glass bodies my son started on 20 years ago has lots of spider web cracks, some bodies are thinner, The last T bucket I got for Free, a project started then parked in the guy's back yard for 20 years. I passed up an unfinished T bucket project A roller with engine and trans running for 2 K,

#11 ·
Ccr