kobalt air compressor not compressing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2011, 07:48 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Age: 59
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kobalt air compressor not compressing

I have a Kobalt K7060HFV and I noticed today that it was running for what seemed longer than normal. I went to check it out and sure enough, the motor was running but it wasn't pumping any air. I also looked at the oil site glass and it looked like the oil was bubbleing. It wasn't boiling. but like air was blowing into it.
Are there any check I can perform to pin point whats is wrong?
I found a site called mastertoolrepair.com that claims they have parts, but does any know if Kobalt has a service center other than Lowes.
I will be able to call around tomorrow but thought I would ask here tonight. Thanks for any help and hope everyone has a great week.

tcoop
55 Chevy Pickup
84 Chevy Pickup
97 S-10
and a broke compressor

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2011, 09:10 PM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,238
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 38
Thanked 128 Times in 124 Posts
If that compressor has reed valves quite likely you have a broken reed valve..EZ to check just pull a head and look..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2011, 08:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check Head Gasket

Is it going up to 50 to 70 PSI but not higher? Many of those style compressors have very thin dividers in the head gasket between the inlet and discharge valves. Sometimes those dividers fail and cause the situation you see. As ONEMORETIME mentioned it could also be a valve failure too. There is no test other than a pump up test but you can tell without a stopwatch that it is running longer than before. You need to disassemble and inspect it to determine the exact cause.

I would contact the Lowes you bought it from to see who they recommend for the service work on their compressors.

You should be able to buy an entire valve plate assembly and just replace all the valves in the unit at once. That is what I recommmend. Also, after replacing the valves, run it for a while then retorque the head, then do go through that procedure again to be sure the gasket is properly crushed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2011, 07:54 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Age: 59
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maulerman
Is it going up to 50 to 70 PSI but not higher? Many of those style compressors have very thin dividers in the head gasket between the inlet and discharge valves. Sometimes those dividers fail and cause the situation you see. As ONEMORETIME mentioned it could also be a valve failure too. There is no test other than a pump up test but you can tell without a stopwatch that it is running longer than before. You need to disassemble and inspect it to determine the exact cause.

I would contact the Lowes you bought it from to see who they recommend for the service work on their compressors.

You should be able to buy an entire valve plate assembly and just replace all the valves in the unit at once. That is what I recommmend. Also, after replacing the valves, run it for a while then retorque the head, then do go through that procedure again to be sure the gasket is properly crushed.
I was able to get a reed valve plate for about 32.00. I havent had a chance to change it out yet, maybe tomorrow.
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:38 AM
RippinRon's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Thornbury, Ontario
Age: 33
Posts: 948
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Did you drain the water from the tank? Water doesnt compress. Id imagaine its quite humid in SC now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2011, 10:13 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That won't matter at all. You could have the tank 99% full of water, and the compressor will still pump up to it's shutoff point. It doesn't know how big the tank is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2011, 08:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Age: 59
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RippinRon
Did you drain the water from the tank? Water doesnt compress. Id imagaine its quite humid in SC now.
I drained the water from the tank often, to bad I didn't change the oil more than I did.
I did get the reed valve assembly installed, but the copper drain tube stripped out. Surprisingly the wall in the pump is very thin and only a couple threads for the tube. They stripped out and I ended up getting an 1/8" X 2" tappered pipe thread tube and I was able to tap out the pump, stwist in the copper tube, and put a cap on it.
And you are correct, very humid here in the Palmetto State.

Thanks to all for the help...Have a great week.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2011, 10:09 PM
Graham M's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 51
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
There may be these cheezy flap valves that are held in place by the pressure of the cylinder head and cylinder itself. These can move over time/use, and eventually have to be re-aligned. We had this POS compressor that had this problem continually, about every hour or so of solid use the head had to be pulled and the valves put back where they should be. The flex from the hot-cold temp swings & high pressures can aid this effect too. Check those out, and inspect their condition. Failing that, it may be a blocking issue in the intake or even just the piston itself. Most likely it wont be anything to do with the piston though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2012, 02:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had the same problem (K7060HFV)

I smacked the head around with a rubber mallet and then ran it without the muffler while squirting some air tool oil in the intake to loosen up the valves. My problem is caused by it sitting around too much. Maybe this is all you need as well?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Age: 59
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvisghetto
I smacked the head around with a rubber mallet and then ran it without the muffler while squirting some air tool oil in the intake to loosen up the valves. My problem is caused by it sitting around too much. Maybe this is all you need as well?
I ended up getting a flap valve kit and putting it in and it worked. Hopefully I have learned my lesson but if this happens again I will try your idea of smacking it with a rubber hammer.
Thanks for the help...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have trouble with the kobalt compressor 5dogsisenuff Body - Exterior 41 01-12-2013 01:26 PM
kobalt air compressor yankee Engine 1 07-07-2011 09:41 AM
kobalt air compressor yankee Garage - Tools 2 07-05-2011 12:17 PM
Kobalt Air Compressor Luke Peterson Garage - Tools 13 07-14-2008 07:56 PM
Kobalt Air Compressor K7060hfv J.D.ROOST Garage - Tools 4 06-08-2007 07:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.