Kolbalt 2 stage compressor questions... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sunny So. Cal
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kolbalt 2 stage compressor questions...

Any have this unit?
I have a kolbalt that i purchased a while ago and just now getting around to hooking it up and lost the manual. What is the correct wire and breaker make-up for this install? 22A draw but that inst the surge for the start-up is it? I was under the assumption that the start-up draw was a lot higher like an A/C unit.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mt. Washington,Ky.
Posts: 351
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I saw this a few days ago but wasn't able to reply at that time. I have a Kobalt K7580v2 2 stage with the 22 amp moter and assume that it's the same one that you've got. I found my manual and it said to use a 40 amp breaker but I couldn't find the wire size. I don't remember who I asked but I think I was told that I could use a 10 guage wire if it was under 50'. Maybe an electrician will chime in but if not I'll climb up and see what wire size that I did use. I've had my compressor for a couple of years and it's doing great. Good luck with yours.

Danny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2007, 07:35 AM
Houston54's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 1954 Chevy Truck Project
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 272
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the same compressor and used a double pole 40Amp breaker and used 10 awg wire. The compressor is like three feet from the breaker box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor - Single vs. Dual Stage cab Garage - Tools 28 09-06-2010 04:48 PM
Single stage and duel stage air compressor? DeathByGreaser Body - Exterior 24 10-19-2005 06:33 PM
single stage or used 2 stage? zimaad Garage - Tools 9 08-04-2005 08:19 PM
Which waterpump? Eagle1 Engine 5 08-06-2004 06:38 PM
bc/cc over single stage? Lay'nFrame Body - Exterior 1 06-04-2003 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.