Hot Rod Forum banner

L98 transplant wiring questions.

5K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  Brocksdad1 
#1 ·
Hello folks

My name is Bryce
I have been working on a 83 K10 installing a nice 89 L98 out of a vette. Now I have the engine in, pair of Dougs Tri-Y headers on. I have the VSS to install yet. I have a in-tank 89 Vette fuel pump installed but not wired. I am deleting the smog,vats,and egr on it. The Prom has already been programed.

Here is where I hope that some of you folks great knowledge can come in. I am a heavy equipment tech. I have a strong background in electrical work. But I also know you cant put that magic smoke back in once it escapes.
I have read and printed off all the info at Chevy Thunder and found that most of it is for the LS1. And there are a few things left out.

Now I believe I have the correct pink/black wires separated for the fuse box. also the VSS wires.
I am not to sure on the fan power wires
Fuel relay power wires or where it gets its power and what wires to send to the pump.
what to make key on and what to make battery all the time.

I will be using the A/C in the future but at the moment that is not the priority.
Just knowing all the correct relays, sensors, wires ECT ECT would be great.

I am using the factory Vette harness. I am sure that I have it all because I pulled the engine and the harness myself and took everything that the car had inside and out.

If there is a swap that has been done and documented on here I could not find it. I would appreciate all the help and leads I can get.

thanks so much.

Bryce

See less See more
#6 ·
L98s in box-stock form make a lot of torque till about 5,000rpms. GM *SHOULD* have put the 350 TPI in a truck. Most of the race car guys (and the guys who race benches) like to see small block engines go 6,000rpm plus; but for a street car thats really a waste for 99% of what you do on the street.