Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

larger compressor

12K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  oldred 
#1 ·
OK, I've figured out that my little 2HP compressor has it's limitations. But the bigger one that I can just barely afford seems quite expensive. It gives 18.5 cfm@100 PSI, and max 140 PSI, and has a 60 gal tank, and runs on 220v. It has a 3 cylinder cast iron pump.

This is still a bit small for what I'd prefer, but it's the max that I can afford. But I just wanted to hear from other compressor owners, if they thought that it was worth it for them to get into a bigger compressor. Or do I just have an irrational need for power?

#4 ·
I bought a brand new craftsman, 6hp, 60 gallon tank, 110 volt for $299.00. it does everything i need to do, board sander, d.a., paint. I am a hobbyist, it suits everything I need. professional use it would be lacking, it'll run my da for about 10 minutes before I need to take a 5 minute break to let it catch up.

#7 ·
You also get quicker recovery time with a 2 stage. It might take 5 minutes for a single stage to pump to a certain amount, whereas i would only take 2 minutes for a 2 stage to reach the same amount.If you are going to be doing any painting, I would recommend at least a 60 gallon 2 stage.
I feel that my compressor will be more than enough for anything I am going to do...
Later,
WEIMER

#8 ·
gburgess,
This was copied from another site and explains very well the difference between a single stage and a two stage.

The MGA With An Attitude

TS-103 - Air Compressors

TS-103 is a review of everything you need to know about air compressors before buying one. Key thoughts here are air delivery at given pressures, and you can just about forget about anything else. Particularly do not get distracted too much by the size of the air tank or the advertised horsepower of the motor.

On 11/27/2000 Steve Petrosky wrote: