Late model 350 SBC Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2005, 09:05 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Late model 350 SBC Question

I'm fairly new to SBC being originally from the UK where gas is wayyy to expensive, so please bear with me.

I'm not new to engines, just V8's!

Ive been given a late model (1989) SBC in good working order.
Plan is to rebuild it as a replacement for my leaky SBC thats sat in my 84 Blazer.

After the teardown the short engine is in perfect order but one of the heads is cracked.

Do I have to hunt down late model heads or can I use ones from an earlier SBC?

I know 'something' changed in 1987 as regards the SBC but I struggle to find a definative answer, even on the Net.

Suggestions on reliable mods during the rebuild would also be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-19-2005, 09:40 PM

Last photo:

Two major things happened in 87 for the SBC heads. The heads were redesigned to take different valve covers, and the center two intake bolts on each side were drilled at a different angle. This makes intakes from earlier engines hard to use unless they can be modified. Many early intakes are just slotted and used with an angled washer to bolt on later heads.

The other modification was the one piece rear main seal on the block. This requires a different flywheel and block related parts. Many blocks were also cast and partially machined for roller cam setups. These cam and roller lifter blocks became more common in the ninties.
Old 02-19-2005, 10:27 PM

So if I use early heads I can use early intakes and with the earlier valve covers?