Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Garage - Tools (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/garage-tools/)
-   -   Lathe Identification and general info? (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/lathe-identification-general-info-157636.html)

JoshF 04-28-2009 04:51 PM

Lathe Identification and general info?

5 Attachment(s)
I was given this lathe on Sunday. I have always wanted to learn how to use one, so hopefully this is the good deal I had been waiting for. I am cleaning it up, but so far I have not found anything written or stamped onto the actual machine. The motor, which judging by the bracket is not original, appears to be a "Master" with a wheel shifted transmission.

I am a complete beginner with lathes and machine work in general so any input is appreciated. I have mounted the motor after taking the pictures and everything turns but the auto/manual feed selector had a broken piece I have taken apart to weld up, at which point I think everything will be moving as it is supposed to.

Does anyone have any idea what make/ model/ vintage machine I might be working with?

Is there anything I need to know?

What tooling should I buy first (I did not get any with it)? I am not looking to make anything in particular first, I will probably be turning whatever I can to learn how to run it.

Thanks,

Josh

jaguarxk120 04-28-2009 05:18 PM

What is on the two metal plates behind the wheel that says master?

Mike H 04-28-2009 05:20 PM

4 Attachment(s)
I would buy a quick change type tool post. and get some incerted carbide tooling for it. Use a 370 grade for general turning, try to buy your tooling US made the import stuff is junk and if you are just starting out you need to have tooling that will repeat if you break one and need to chane in the middle of a job.