Lean blower engine? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2009, 07:18 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Lean blower engine?

Hi folks...
This is my first post. However...I have been coming here and reading for a couple of years now. The site is great and some of the most engine knowledgeable people on the net are in here.

I'm probably going to end up answering my own question in this post, but I still like to bounce ideas off guys "in the know".

First thing I would like to make clear is that the engine I am going to ask the question about is a "race only" engine. This is in a sand drag Jeep. For those who don't know...a sand drag strip is only 300 feet long.

The motor is fresh, I'll give you a few details.
357 inch SBC
9.2 comp (static)
zero decked with 0.38.
Brodix IK 200 heads
Steel crank
Cam is a Lunati, 244/254 @0.50, 509/533, LSA/ICL 112/107
Two Holley 660 center squirt carbs (yeah, really)
On a 671 large bore.
The blower has a 35 pulley on top and a 39 on the bottom. I think this makes it 11% overdriven.
The ignition is a Mallory comp 9000, locked at 28 with no box (yet), just distributor, voltage resistor and coil.
As you can see...this is a pretty "mild" motor (as far as race motors go). But believe me...it does not feel very mild in a 1,520 pound drag Jeep with a 6.50 rear and a glide.

Here is what is going on...from idle, it hits very hard (probably because of the massive amount of fuel the center squirts dump in when you goose it.

But with a load on it...it lays down (feels like a rev limiter) at about five grand.

I have a 4000 stall with a brake. The instant I let my finger off the brake, it lays down.