Learn from my mistakes - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2005, 09:31 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Learn from my mistakes

I'm fairly new at paint and bodywork I recently done the body/paint my 70 chevelle with bc/cc which turned out pretty damn good, except for one thing. After doing the major bodywork I went over the body with a fine tooth comb and a black marker to indicate possible blemishes<---mistake. After putting on the first coat the little black x's bled through and continued to bleed through with each coat. Had to put like 4-5 coats over these areas then blend it in. Anyone have this problem? what should i have done?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2005, 09:47 PM
point on positive

Last photo:

You marked them because they were bad spots. Wouldn't blocking etc. till the Xs were gone solve both problems? Why would you mark them and not do something about it? Kinda like pointing out a bus is coming and then steping off the curb in front of it only to be run over : ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1862747-bunnypancake.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	5719  
Old 07-10-2005, 10:04 PM

Last photo:

Haha, been there but worse. When I prepped for colorsanding I used to mark any dirt specs with a marker so they wouldn't get missed, when the marker was sanded off i knew the spec was gone. Changed marker brands on day- not good, The car was yellow and the marker bled into the clear like it was a tattoo. Ended up sanding and reclearing the whole car. No markers around any paint work of any kind for me ever again.
Old 07-10-2005, 10:25 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo: