lokar or gennie - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:49 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lokar or gennie

Any pros or cons on these 2 shifters?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 09:12 AM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 73
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
I have used both and they both work very well.

You have an easier time selecting gearshift knobs for the Gennie.

Because of the push button feature of the Lokar you are limited in the selection of gearshift knobs unless you use an adapter that they have available. The adapter deters from the overall appearance though. (That's my personal opinion.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 09:42 AM
bentwings's Avatar
bentwings
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: St.Paul, Minn
Age: 72
Posts: 1,798
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
2x with frisco.

I prefer the Locar. I think it is smoother and the standard knob is ok by me. (no skulls allowed in my garage)

Here is the problem with either. If you have a tight auto and a strong motor, when you try to manually up shift it is easy to go too far as there are not any real position stops except for those that are internal to the trans. You can stiffen the valve body spring but it is a messy job at best and still only a bandaid.

I called about this, and Locar said they are working on a better gated shifter.

A gated shifter for the same price would be nice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:03 AM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 73
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentwings
Here is the problem with either. If you have a tight auto and a strong motor, when you try to manually up shift it is easy to go too far as there are not any real position stops except for those that are internal to the trans.

I called about this, and Locar said they are working on a better gated shifter.
I agree and should have mentioned this.

A better gated shifter would be a definite improvement.

Neither the Gennie or Lokar shifters are designed for racing and as such can be up-shifted from a low gear position directly into neutral (Not good) with just the flick of the wrist.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:06 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,981
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 20
Thanked 242 Times in 218 Posts
I looked them both over before I purchased the Lokar. I do have to agree with bentwings about the lack of a good gate - but since I will not be doing any organized drag racing, felt that I could live with that situation. The Lokar is smoother, and has a much better and more solid mounting system. My biggest complaint - their instructions leave a lot to be desired. You will have to use a Lokar kickdown and probably their throttle cable - and I'm not sure that Gennie has those components.

This is my setup on a Ford C4 and includes the e-brake:

__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:11 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeh, I bought a B&M megashifter,but its going to take up more room on the floor than I expected,I have a 26T and the floor is only about 3 feet wide. But now I don't thinh a locar or gennie would because I don't think I would hav room for the shiftrod because the MC is so close to the tranny that I had to use banjo fittings on it.I see locar makes a cable shifter now,but its a floor mount like the B&M is. How does the front bolts on the locar attatch to the tranny,I can't figure it out on their pictures,I might be able to make one work but not sure
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:15 AM
streetrodderbn's Avatar
Certifiable Streetrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: n.e. ohio
Posts: 369
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Just as an F.Y.I. I had a fittment problem with my lokar shifter hitting the tranny tunnel on the pass. side in my 37 due to engine setback, the easy fix was to buy an additional drivers side bracket that hugs the tranny tighter. The standard pass. side bracket is squared off for use of a tranny mounted handbrake. With only very minor mods, it works great, and now has plenty of clearance!(my e-brake is hooked to the stock 37 handle)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:36 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,981
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 20
Thanked 242 Times in 218 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
yeh, I bought a B&M megashifter,but its going to take up more room on the floor than I expected,I have a 26T and the floor is only about 3 feet wide. But now I don't thinh a locar or gennie would because I don't think I would hav room for the shiftrod because the MC is so close to the tranny that I had to use banjo fittings on it.I see locar makes a cable shifter now,but its a floor mount like the B&M is. How does the front bolts on the locar attatch to the tranny,I can't figure it out on their pictures,I might be able to make one work but not sure

Take a look at a B&M 'Z' gate - I had one on a '23 'bucket. Fit real nicely: http://www.bmracing.com/media/catalog/1.pdf
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:37 AM
XNTRCI-T's Avatar
AKA Lee in KC
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Age: 66
Posts: 530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I can't comment on Gennie... I have Lokar. Three comments about Lokar:

(1) There are two types of tranny mount for the Lokar, tail mount and plate mount. The tail mount has only one mounting position, the plate mount has four or five. The plate mount adds some height to the tranny installation, so floor/tunnel clearance can be an issue (it was for my '23 T). The tail mount would have worked better for my installation. The plate mount does give you a lot more choices on where you set the shifter in relation to your seating position, though.

(2) I have had a devil of a time getting the neutral safety switch set. It may just be my particular set-up (TH350), but it does not seem to be possible to set it where it is completely impossible to start in either Drive or Reverse. In other words, the range of adjustment is too wide and spans all of the Neutral position plus just a little bit of either Drive or Reverse, depending on which way you are adjusting. As was mentioned above, the instructions are pretty vague in this area.

(3) As was said above, this shifter is not good for manual shifting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 01:55 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can't use the tail mount and I don't know if I have clearance between MC and tranny for the left-front mounting bolt or the linkage?? can u tell by these pics?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1456.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	180.7 KB
ID:	29098   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1457.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	166.5 KB
ID:	29099   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1458.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	176.6 KB
ID:	29100   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1459.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	29101  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 02:12 PM
XNTRCI-T's Avatar
AKA Lee in KC
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Age: 66
Posts: 530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think you're scrawed, bud. You might be able to get a cable shifter to work, but the set-up I have won't work with your MC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lokar.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	81.0 KB
ID:	29102  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 02:30 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,981
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 20
Thanked 242 Times in 218 Posts
Will these help? The shifter and plate remain basically the same regardless of the transmission, only the brackets and linkage change somewhat.







__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a turbo 350 and much narrower frame rails
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 04:14 PM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 73
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
I can't use the tail mount and I don't know if I have clearance between MC and tranny for the left-front mounting bolt or the linkage?? can u tell by these pics?
With the master so close to the trans I don't think any shifter (including the cable linkage) will clear.

You might consider moving the master further to the rear to give you the clearance you need. This is what I did on my Model 'A' frame which is wider than your frame. See picture below. Left click for a larger view.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	remote master.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	29103  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 04:28 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My 4 bars are where your power brake unit is This car is really small,the b&m cable shifter will work,it just takes up more floor space than I realized it would ,I've allready moved it over to crowd my wifes feet,(boy is she happy about that ha ha) now if I can get my right foot made narrower somehow then I can work the gas pedel and the brake,maybe I'll put the gas pedal on her side !!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help, adjusting a lokar tv cable maninacoupe Transmission - Rearend 2 10-01-2006 07:25 PM
Lokar Shifter Bell Crank bartamos Transmission - Rearend 0 06-01-2006 11:41 PM
Gennie or Lokar A/G WILLYS Transmission - Rearend 12 06-01-2005 01:24 PM
Lokar trans mount E-brake 302 Z28 Suspension - Brakes - Steering 2 01-01-2004 04:31 PM
Can't get my lokar trans cable to fit. firewood Transmission - Rearend 3 08-22-2003 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.