a long list of questions from a complete newbie - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2005, 01:41 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

a long list of questions from a complete newbie

I have recently purchased a 1936 Chev straight axle 4 door sedan as it turned out my wife also loves hot rods. (no smut intended honest)

Problem number one is that I have the mechanical skills of a small goldfish. I want to do as much work on it as possible myself, I know its going to take years and years (thats half the fun) and there is lots of learning to come. I want it as a driving around car not as a race car (I might build one of those later)

Before I start I want to make sure I have the thing planned out completely so I don't end up with any sudden suprises or stuff ups. The car is pretty damned straight so I don't need to worry about rebuilding whole sections.

At this stage all I know is that I want to put the following in.
at least a 350 small block (if you guys reckon more will fit let me know)
new suspension (no idea what type or where from but we'll get there with your help)
power steering (how?)
electric windows and central locking (I can actually do both of these)
and an automatic transmission (how!?)

to make matters more interesting it is a right hand drive (has to be in new zealand

Any suggestions of what to do and where to start or anything along those lines would be great.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2005, 01:56 PM

Last photo: