Looking to purchase a Juki 563, need help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2010, 03:46 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Looking to purchase a Juki 563, need help

Hi,

I am looking at a Juki LU 563 it comes with table and several feet. It looks like its in real good shape. It has a clutch motor, which I would have to change to a servo(I'm a rookie). How much is it worth? Asking price is $900. How much would it cost to covert to servo? and is this something I can do myself? Just starting on doing my own interiors, I did my last car w/ a regular machine and would like to upgrade to something a lot nicer. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	juki563.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	43963  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2010, 08:07 AM

Last photo:

I would say that's a VERY good price for that particular machine in that condition.

Give the clutch motor a try before you feel you need to run out and buy a servomotor, anyone who has used an industrial machine for more than 5 years learned on a clutch motor. It's just a matter of coordination and slipping the clutch to control the speed of the sewing head. Took me maybe an hour of practice to learn to use a clutch motor. I now have one power stand with a servomotor and three with clutch motors and it makes no difference which one I use.

If you feel you must swap out the clutch motor for a servomotor, cost is under $150 and the servomotor is usually a drop-in replacement, no alterations required. You might need to buy a different size belt if there is not enough adjustment to use the current belt.

Ed
http://sewing-machines.blogspot.com