lots of aluminum corrosion in stock HEI distributor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2009, 03:46 PM
likes chevy trucks & boobies

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

lots of aluminum corrosion in stock HEI distributor

well i have been messing around with the 305 in the 82 trans am i have been keeping parked around here since 2000 and messing with

been having real issues with it starting up and running correctly

when i first put the engine in around 2005 or so it was running great

but over time it got worse i noticed

i kept assuming it was the carb so i would swap another one on it

but then eventually it would run bad again, sooner than later

i was messing around with it again today so i could move it to another spot and i noticed that the idle was staying and sticking for no reason at around 2000 rpm or so even when backing off the carb curb and fast choke idle screws and checking the choke linkage

no vacuum leaks

couldnt figure it out until i went to move the distrib by pushing on the vac advance canister and as soon as i touched the canister the idle dropped out and it stumbled and died

so i then deduced that the problem must be with the distributor, evne though i didnt want to believe such, because its a rare thing to be the cause of bad running engines, usually.,

so i set it to #1 tower real quick, and yanked it out

and wow i immediatley noticed that it was like "full" of aluminum powder corrosion junk really bad

i have had tons of stock hei dizzies over the years and never seen this before.

what could cause this ?

like super fine gunpowder or something like gray in color

is this really corrosion, or is it something else?