Hot Rod Forum banner

Lowering '37 ford coupe

7K views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  rusty duck 
#1 ·
My '37 ford coupe has a Fatman front suspension and I would like to lower the front end one inch. I have not weighed the front end, but the coupe is all steel and body is stock, running a chevy 350 motor. I am thinking about cutting one coil on the front springs to get it down an inch. OK or bad idea? Other suggestions?
Thanks

#9 ·
lowering '37 ford coupe

On my coupe the distance between the bottom of the grille and ground is currently 6 1/4". If I go to 2" dropped spindles the distance between the bottom of the grille and the ground would be 4 1/4". I currently have P185-70R-14 wheels/tires on the front. Anyone have theirs this low without trouble hitting on driveways, speed bumps, etc.? I guess I could go to a taller front tire, but again that's $$. Is 4 1/4" asking for trouble? I am a pretty careful driver.

#10 · (Edited)
rusty duck said:
On my coupe the distance between the bottom of the grille and ground is currently 6 1/4". If I go to 2" dropped spindles the distance between the bottom of the grille and the ground would be 4 1/4". I currently have P185-70R-14 wheels/tires on the front. Anyone have theirs this low without trouble hitting on driveways, speed bumps, etc.? I guess I could go to a taller front tire, but again that's $$. Is 4 1/4" asking for trouble? I am a pretty careful driver.
Is there a 1 inch shorter tire?

Attachments

#12 ·
rusty duck said:
do you mean a 1" taller tire?
I don't think so. If the front end needs to be lowered 1" then a 2" shorter tire would lower the front end 1". P185 60R 14's are shorter but there may be an looks or a rubbing (when truning) problem. Just have to look at tire sizes and heights. My point is that it may be a lot cheaper to buy two tires than springs or spindles.

Attachments

#14 ·