Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   Lungs hurt after spraying car !!! (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/lungs-hurt-after-spraying-car-184727.html)

Sauces62 09-20-2010 12:47 AM

Lungs hurt after spraying car !!!

Just painted my bothers car for him in my garage today.its a detached garage and garage door in both front and back of garage. After I was finished with final clear, I was a little short of beath and sore throat,and about 30 minutes after started weasing and lungs felt a little sore when I take a good size breath. Im not coughing up anything.Will this go away ? (Im a beginner at painting but have pretty good common sense so yes i wore a 3m mask(new filters put an exhaust fan and had a door cracked for movement. I did take my mask off when I left the garage and The fumes were pretty heavy.

Rambo_The_Dog 09-20-2010 01:05 AM

What Kind of a 3m mask did you wear?

Painting is nothing to mess around with and not using proper breathing equipment will kill you.

You might want to go to the ER if the conditions continue - isocyanates crystallize the bursa sacs in your lungs and can do permanant damage.

Good luck, I hope you didn't harm yourself trying to save a buck.

dinger 09-20-2010 01:08 AM

More importantly, what kind of paint. Google the type of paint and MSDS to find what you may up against. Or look on the cans label.

Sauces62 09-20-2010 01:11 AM

I used the one the guy at auto industrial said to. Mask is 3M 7503 and the filters are 3M 6001 NIOSH
I used a pcl sealer then a matrix white base followed by a wet pearl in clear binder the 3 coats of euro glass clear. Im pretty sure it was the clear. when i coughed i could taste it faintly

Sauces62 09-20-2010 01:16 AM

Ive used this mask before when I jammed my Cadillac and didnt have this problem.

BarryK 09-20-2010 05:48 AM