machine shop guys, a question about aluminum heads and head gaskets. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2009, 12:38 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

machine shop guys, a question about aluminum heads and head gaskets.

OK, as a retired mechanic i've always done cast iron head engines. the question i have is about head gaskets with aluminum heads. i have installed both composition head gaskets and have installed steel shim head gaskets with KW coppercoat sprayed on them and never had a failure. my questions are-
can you use a steel shim head gasket (.021) with aluminum heads?
should you spray them with KW copporcoat?
if not, which gaskets would you install and how? KW, non KW. i'm looking for gaskets of about .021 compressed height.
any tips about head gaskets (the thinner the better) with aluminum heads is wecome from you machine shop guys. or you old hotrodders with experience with aluminum heads on iron blocks. part #s for gaskets are welcome.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-13-2009, 08:09 AM

Any head gasket will hold good with Cast Block and Alum heads as long the block been resurface. Copper coat or Hylomar will work fine. But you need to retorque the heads after the engine cool down on the first start up.
Old 05-13-2009, 08:28 AM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo:

Technically it is not recomended to use a steel shim style head gasket with aluminum heads. Not so much becasue it is thin, but because it is of dissimular metal. When two dissimular metals are in contact, a galvanic action takes place.