Machine shop told me the crank was bad... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 12:55 PM
More machine than man

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Machine shop told me the crank was bad...

I took my shortblock SBC350 to the machine shop. A few days later they told me the crank was bad. The thrust surface was scored badly (thrust bearing was shot). I did look at it myself to verify. I do not have the full history on the engine, I know it was rebuilt at least once (+.030 bore and steel sleeve) and used/driven hard. The engine was always used with a 4 speed transmission.

Not that I am an expert in hot rods, but in all my reading and researches I have never heard of anything like this. I have heard of the thrust bearing, but never of this kind of wear/destruction. From what I have been able to tell, a common cause is riding the clutch (since the previous owner was my dad I can assure you he did not ride the clutch).

So what is the normal expectation/lifespan of the thrust bearing surface/boss/web on the crankshaft in a manual transmission application? Is the only prevention for destruction to replace the thrust bearing more often? Use better oil? What is the part of the crankshaft called where the thrust bearing makes contact?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2012, 01:01 PM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo:

The thrust surface on the crank most likely got that way from Bang shifting a 4 speed. (Side steping the clutch etc ).
A auto trans torque converter failure can do that too.

or from someone who hammered on a balancer.

Find another regrindable GM cast crank or buy a scat crank. (383 stroker time)