making a 327? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 05:48 PM
58lincoln's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: New (used) 350.
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: woodbine ia
Age: 24
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
making a 327?

Hi again, I am not sure but I have heard you can make a 327 by putting a 307 crank in a 350, true? Where can I find a new 307 crank? I always wanted a 327 in my Nova and I think my 350 I just got would be a good candidate. What do you guys think? Will it rev higher? Has anyone done it?- Alex

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:00 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Keep the 350 You can make it rev the same as the 327.
Keep the displacement, BUT if your dead set on a smaller motor ill give you my 307 if you give me your 350.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:04 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S/E Michigan
Posts: 650
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
If built the same,a 327 will make less power than your 350, the only reason to go with less cubic inches is to meet rules for a certain class of racing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:35 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,947
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 760
Thanked 1,013 Times in 849 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FmrStrtracer
If built the same,a 327 will make less power than your 350, the only reason to go with less cubic inches is to meet rules for a certain class of racing.
Bingo!
But yeah, if you just feel the need to do it. A large journal 327 crank or any 307 crank will work. You'll have to use 4.000" bore 327 pistons because of the different compression height between 350 and 327 pistons. (centerline of the wrist pin to the piston crown).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:39 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,397
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 470 Times in 427 Posts
All it takes is a 307 crank, 327 spec pistons, and a 2-piece rear main seal 350 block. It's a step backwards though, ought to be thinking 383 . The "high revving" 327 only meant something when it was the biggest SBC available(like 1965ish). A bigger engine will blow you away.

Put your "high revvin" 327 in Uncle Elmers farm truck and see how fast it revs, then put a nice 454 in a 2600 early box Nova/Chevy II with 5.13 gears and you'll see what "high revvin" is all about. It's just noise!!

An engines ability to free rev high and fast has nothing to do with how well it will move once the weight of the car is imposed on it. Revving fast is meaningless.

I guess 500 years in the future when we are all drivin' our flying "George Jetson"-mobiles there will still be some fool bragging about a "high revvin" 327.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:58 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,947
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 760
Thanked 1,013 Times in 849 Posts
It's all a matter of how much air you move through the motor. A 350 at 6000 moves 607 cfm. A 327 at 6425 moves 607 cfm. You can make the same power, but the 327 will require a better valvetrain. (read-more money).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 07:07 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,397
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 470 Times in 427 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by techinspector1
It's all a matter of how much air you move through the motor. A 350 at 6000 moves 607 cfm. A 327 at 6425 moves 607 cfm. You can make the same power, but the 327 will require a better valvetrain. (read-more money).
And thats just it, in todays world building a 7500 rpm 350(or 383 or 406 or 4++!) is falling out of a boat easy and at the same cost, and which one moves more air and makes more power?!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2009, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Be sure you get a Chevy crank and not an Oldsmobile crank. Both divisions made a 307 at one time or another.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:25 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
You can use either 307 or 350 connecting rod to build a 327
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:00 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,397
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 470 Times in 427 Posts
Yes, because they are the EXACT same rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap 283 to 327 impala 1967 ricolala Engine 11 03-03-2009 11:28 AM
is it pssible to make a 283 into a 327 stroker? talon0713 Engine 43 01-08-2009 11:19 PM
327 large and small journal motors 31 Ford Coupe Engine 9 09-08-2008 12:09 PM
327 '89 Trans Am GTA suggestions 3rdGenFreak Engine 2 06-29-2007 07:45 PM
Replace 327 engine? Junior's67 Engine 11 09-13-2004 01:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.