Making flake more sparkly from any angle... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2009, 12:25 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Making flake more sparkly from any angle...

Hi,
I am new to this forum. I am an artist, trying to use automotive finishes on my pieces (I have a show in March in San Fran). I just had a bunch of end tables painted with a white base coat, and a clear coat with Ice Crystal Pearl from TCPGlobal's Kustom Shop. It looks really great when the light hits it at just the right angle, and ONLY that angle. So the top looks sparkly, but the sides look just boring white. If I shine a light from below, it looks great, but that is impractical.

Is there a way to make it more sparkly? It seems to me the problem is that the flakes are laying flat, so they make a mirror surface that only reflects a specific angle of incident light. Seems the flakes need to be suspended in random orientations.

I talked to TCPGlobal (Tom was very helpful), suggested putting the flake in an "intercoat", that it will suspend the particles, and i will get the effect i want. Is this correct? He recommended UBC825. I also saw the HOK SG150 which looks like it may be designed for this.

Much thanks!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2009, 01:10 PM

Last photo:

the white color itself and the flat surfaces are killing the metalflake "pop"

on a white metal flake car (like G Barris "Ala Carte") only the convex/curved panels do pop as your eye's see it at different light angles as you walk by...