Making a functional ram air. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2003, 08:05 PM
Silver_Camaro's Avatar
Superior Wheels Quality Tech
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 28
Posts: 385
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Making a functional ram air.

Alright heres the deal... I've got an '82 Z28 Camaro which has the small scoop pieces on the front. But with black aluminum covers over them.. I've been wanting to take these aluminum blockoffs out and make a cylindrical bowl out of sheet metal.. And put on an edelbrock air cleaner.. The type with mesh all the way around. But I don't know of a sure way to keep water out of it when it rains.. Anyone got any ideas?


    Advertisement

Last edited by Silver_Camaro; 09-22-2003 at 08:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2003, 11:29 PM
Silver_Camaro's Avatar
Superior Wheels Quality Tech
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 28
Posts: 385
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Come on.. Surely some one has an idea out there... Another thaught I've been thinkin of is maybe using those aluminum flaps.. But make them seal under normal driving conditions.. But when the secondaries open then the flaps would open... This way when its raining I don't have to worry about it because I can just keep my foot out of the accelerator. But I don't know how dificult it would be to wire it to the secondaries.

Or another idea is maybe run a pull switch into the cab area and just mount it under the dash... So that if i pull the switch then the flaps open, and when i push the switch back in the flaps close and seal... This idea came from looking into the switches for switching between muffler and wide open headers on those exhaust selector setups.

Please, if you got an idea on this post it.. I'm open to any and all ideas!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2003, 08:26 PM
Military Mechanic
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Hood TX
Age: 34
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well if you tried to mechanically hook it to your carb. it wouldn't work without a huge amount of effort. I'm not even sure if the extra weight of trying to open up some hood flaps would be able to be activated with the secondaries. A small electrical motor would work or like you said maybe a mechanical pull cable. Overall unless you wanted to just use the ones on the hood it would be a lot easier , cheaper to just route it behind a headlight , under the front bumper. I believe they even sell kits for these.

Eric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2003, 09:32 PM
unstable's Avatar
Murderator
 

Last journal entry: Brackets, Stories and the future
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Age: 35
Posts: 743
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I recently seen something on that "Trucks" show, where the guy bolted on a hood that had flaps that open when you gas it. It tied into the vacuum on the carb, maybe it was a simple vacuum motor that ran on the flaps.

In any event, I'm wondering how much of an impact rain water would have on a K&N type filter. I couldn't imagine it getting totally saturated unless you were driving in really harsh weather.

Just an idea...what about making a cover of some sort for these ports you want to open up? Similar to the covers racers put on their scoops when they're not in use. Maybe held in by pins or something in incliment weather.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:25 AM
k2mooch's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Age: 35
Posts: 174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Did you figure it out yet? Just curious because I'm about to do the same to my '69 Mustang.

Is there any way to measure my hood clearance between the hood and the top of the air cleaner? Do they make a compressable ruler or something to measure this?

I have a bolt-on hood scoop that I'd like to make functional by cutting out a 15 in. hole so I can raise the carb enough to poke the air cleaner (summit 14 in. open) out high enough to be inside the scoop and above the hood. The scoop is only about 2 inches tall, so I know I can't get the whole air cleaner to fill the scoop, but the more surface of the air cleaner I have above the hood, the better.

I have already made a custom scoop-block that will seal it in bad weather and sealed the scoop airtight. I have not cut the hood yet because I want to make sure that this air cleaner will work for it and how high I need to raise it. Any ideas?


MoocH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:36 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,273
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 103 Times in 86 Posts
I used that stuff for cleaning typewriter keys,like putty.Just put
a lump on the aircleaner and gently close the hood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2003, 11:21 PM
Silver_Camaro's Avatar
Superior Wheels Quality Tech
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 28
Posts: 385
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Got any kids? Playdough works good. Just roll up a ball and put it on top of the air cleaner and close the hood.. then measure from flat spot to flat spot.. Just like malc said..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2003, 04:55 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,273
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 103 Times in 86 Posts
Check that the aircleaner is centered in the engine bay.
See my gallery for cut hood pics.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2003, 10:09 AM
k2mooch's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Age: 35
Posts: 174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ROCK ON. Thanks guys, I was thinking too 'solid' for a measuring device. I need to start thinking 'gushy gushy'. Thanks again.

Malc, I see what you mean about the centering. Thanks.


MoocH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2003, 07:28 AM
V8 S-10's Avatar
v8s10.org
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Missouri
Age: 37
Posts: 317
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I installed Vacuum operated flaps in the Shaker thats on my S10 and used a Chevy spark advance to actuate the flaps.

More pictures at http://www.v8s10.org/gallery/view_al...umName=album14 and in my hotrodders gallery.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2003, 07:38 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,273
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 103 Times in 86 Posts
I put flaps in the opening of my hood scoop,as you go faster they open more.The air from the windshield area goes into the engine
bay,not out as you would imagine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Body - Exterior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.