Man I need some help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:40 AM
ivanogburn's Avatar
Shade Tree Doofus
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seabrook, Texas
Age: 56
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Man I need some help

Here is a damn stupid question but I can't find an answer!
(I posted this orignally in the "engine section" but thought I should epost here!)
I have this '77 Ford truck I just bought to rod and it has a GM TH400 tranny.
Currently the speedometer is not hooked up!
My question is will I need a special cable to connect the Ford speedometer to the GM trany? Or is there a better way to hook this up?

It would be really cool if there were a newer electronic speedometer that would fit in the space for the rectangular Ford speedometer.

Man I need some help!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:09 AM
79C10's Avatar
Viva la Migra!!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Noo Yawk .the good part.
Age: 41
Posts: 523
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't think that you'll have a problem using the speedo cable , as they sell replacements that aren't brand specific. You'll need the proper little gear that goes on the end of the cable in the trans , though.
Have you looked for a square chebbie speedo at your local junkyard? They sell digi speedos , which you can mount where you want , then put pictures of your loved ones in the old speedo hole!
good luck with it !!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:14 AM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Never having owned a Ford newer than 1956 ... I cannot say for certain ... but on the numerous 56 Ford F-100's I have ovned ... the speedometer hooked to the GM transmissions ... just like a factory Ford ... bolt on.

Even if their is a problem ... most good speedometer shops can make a speedometer cable up that will work.



I would just check to see if it just screwed on.
There is a strong possibility that the reason it is not hooked up is because the speedometer is way off ... with the speedometer gears in the Turbo 400



(Shown above is a 700R4 ) but a Turbo 400 uses the same type set up. Changing them to the correct ones for your application is not a big deal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:58 AM
31 five window
 

Last journal entry: Master cylinder
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: louisiana
Age: 57
Posts: 1,577
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Like the others I can't say for your year model but I have seen alot of ford cables hook directly to chevy. Try it first and if it fits see if there is another problem that would have caused them to disconnect it. Then go from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2007, 08:17 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,895
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 259 Times in 212 Posts
I had Chevy stuff in my 77 Ford...............(Sorry Centerline, it's just who I am)............If I remember correctly, the speedo cable fit.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2013, 12:26 PM
496CHEVY3100's Avatar
Appalachian American
 

Last journal entry: ,
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Appalachia GA
Posts: 823
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 368
Thanked 277 Times in 245 Posts
If the speedometer is of to much you will have to change gears shown above .a large change requires removing tail shaft and changing the plastic gear also. , hook up cable and drine truck see how much the speedometer is off,then go to any truck parts dealer Peterbuilt freightliner etc. you can buy an adapter that screws into transmission ,then cable screws into adapter ,they come in many ratios ,to speed up or slow down speedometer they are marked in percentages in underdrive or overdrive tried to find one in my shop to post a picture but could not locate one .hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2013, 03:31 PM
RWENUTS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 1,981
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 59
Thanked 212 Times in 200 Posts
496 it's called a ratio adaptor.
Look here.
Speedometer Gear, Speedometer Gears, Ford, GM, Dodge 700R4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2013, 04:20 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,895
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 259 Times in 212 Posts
Its also a 5 1/2 year old thread.....problem is probably solved long ago
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2013, 08:17 PM
496CHEVY3100's Avatar
Appalachian American
 

Last journal entry: ,
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Appalachia GA
Posts: 823
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 368
Thanked 277 Times in 245 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62 View Post
Its also a 5 1/2 year old thread.....problem is probably solved long ago
If it is not fixed by now he had a big problem LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:00 PM
496CHEVY3100's Avatar
Appalachian American
 

Last journal entry: ,
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Appalachia GA
Posts: 823
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 368
Thanked 277 Times in 245 Posts
Or possible help some one else.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muscle Cars madhat Hotrodders' Lounge 140 03-08-2007 11:08 AM
TCP Vs. Fat Man IFS 1965-Mustang Suspension - Brakes - Steering 9 11-25-2003 05:01 PM
man o' man.......... crazy larry Hotrodders' Lounge 2 06-11-2003 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.