Manual wiring toggle swith for TH350C - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:32 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Manual wiring toggle swith for TH350C

I have a 84" Monte SS that has a TH350C in it and i refuse to pay 170$ for a lockup wiring switch just so I can get a little better MPG on the highway is there a way that I can toggle switch the pressure switch to lock up the converter? I am not running an ECM, all has been removed and changed to mechanical. Cruise control A/C and everything has been removed for weght purposes but I would like to drive to work a few times to show off my toy without spending 15$ in fuel.............. Help me please.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2005, 06:42 AM
dei8fan's Avatar
Registered Brain Surgeon
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Western N. Carolina
Age: 55
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hit a salvage yard that has late 70's early 80's GM's. The carb non-ECM cars had a firewall mounted vacumn switch that controled the lockup. The fix is easy but the part may not be easy to find.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:19 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Note to all who read this thread I just want to be able to switch it on about once or twice a week. I like to run it like a normal TH350 on the streets so I just need to know how to wire the switch to reverse the fluid pressure and then turn it off when I am done using it. Preferablably a lighted toggle on and off. Thanks all.
inkrat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2005, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'd like to know the same thing. Maybe I'll get brave & just try it. Hopefully the worst thing to happen will be I'll forget it's on & the engine will shudder & die when I come to a stop. Anybody know if it could be worse than that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:28 PM
packratwrecker's Avatar
Too many hobbies!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kansas
Age: 41
Posts: 240
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
INK, I'd vote with DEI8, on finding the vac switch. you can still put a toggle override on it, but you won't have to worry about forgetting to switch it off, and killing it at a stoplight.

Basically, you will get the best out of both features.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2005, 09:34 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,099
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
does the tranny have a 2 hole or a 4 hole case connector?

this would be where the harmess plugs into the tranny case near the shift arm link.

4 hole...... 12 volts in the outter front hole. a ground in the hole behind the front outter hole.

2 hole.... put 12 volts to the front hole , ground to the rear hole. Switch the ground or the 12 volts...... does not matter.

if you want a light in lock up......... use a light in circuit with the 12 volt feed and use the switch on the 12 volt side. turn the switch on, you have lock up and a light too
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:16 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is a 4 hole plug and I found a new 2200 stall converter and TCC solenoid for 225+tax in an area near me but I don't wanna mess with the vac swith dropping off at WOT. I just need to know if I wire the ground to the bell housing bolt and ignition the 12volt supply through the toggle will that work?

Thanks
Ink
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2006, 07:39 PM
6426yy's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Macomb Il.
Age: 35
Posts: 550
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
inkrat,

Did you ever get your tranny wired up the way you wanted? Just pulled the engine and trans out of my 83 pu to find the th350c I've never noticed it locking up before and all my wiring and vac line are gutted so I'd like to do this manual switch also. How's it work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:47 AM
M&M CUSTOM's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Transmission identification
Last journal entry: 1988 Suburban, the project continues.
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northwest Pennsylvania.
Age: 43
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think this is the FIRST instance a thread was dug up from the dead that didn't have a complete answer, or told the solution.

I would also like to know if there are consequences to NOT hooking up the TCC wiring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:16 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TH350C lockup

well guys i said the hell with it and put a custom built TH350 witha 2400 stall and a custum drilled shift kit. I have no doubt the toggle with the ground will work but you must remember to unlock it below 35 MPH. But thanks to all for the comments................
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2006, 06:26 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,099
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
great, hope it works well for you






Quote:
Originally Posted by inkrat
well guys i said the hell with it and put a custom built TH350 witha 2400 stall and a custum drilled shift kit. I have no doubt the toggle with the ground will work but you must remember to unlock it below 35 MPH. But thanks to all for the comments................
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 53
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M CUSTOM
I think this is the FIRST instance a thread was dug up from the dead that didn't have a complete answer, or told the solution.

I would also like to know if there are consequences to NOT hooking up the TCC wiring.
YES!
Running a lockup torque converter open (not locked) will create extreme, extended heat in the torque converter. Coolers MAY dissipate this heat, but the trans wil suffer in the long run. Who among you would adjust your clutch so that it would slip 200-300 RPM constantly when you are driving down the highway??
That IS what happens inside a lockup converter when it is driven unlocked in high gear (or overdrive) for any length of time. This is also the reason that the original engineering called for lockup as soon as possible, sometimes 38 MPH. I refer back to the manual clutch example. If you have a lockup type trans, you need to have lockup function above 45MPH or 2500 RPM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2006, 11:19 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
From what I understand, the overdrive automatics are the only ones that suffer from non-lockup problems. I've been running a non-locking T350C in my '79 Suburban (350, 2.73's) for about 7 years, and I have had no heat-related problems at all so far, and the fluid has never had a "burnt-up" smell. I drive it to San Antonio about once a year, and every other Saturday I drive to a work location that's 70 miles away. The truck is not treated exactly gently, as it's a full-throttle struggle all the way up the on-ramps just to get up to a semi-safe merging speed, and then 75-80mph the rest of the way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2006, 05:57 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,099
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
the t-350C does not suffer with the converter unlocked as the 700/4L60 does for a comparo here.

We did a tranny swap on a 1979 camaro in the mid 1980's...... we only had a t-350C tranny on the shelf, so it went in the car. Never had a bit of trouble with it.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2006, 04:53 PM
6426yy's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Macomb Il.
Age: 35
Posts: 550
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just finished wiring my truck up. I'll let you guys know how it went after I get the test drive in.

wish me luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TH350 Manual Valve Question Pantload Transmission - Rearend 6 02-19-2006 01:48 PM
700R4- full manual control powderbill Transmission - Rearend 4 02-11-2005 09:03 PM
Wiring with fiberglass wbmusarra Electrical 1 11-13-2003 05:18 AM
Anyone have 4L80 chassis wiring diagrams Jason Transmission - Rearend 24 09-18-2003 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.