Masking Off...? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2007, 12:45 AM

Last journal entry: Stripping Paint + Buying New Metal
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Masking Off...?

does anyone have any tips or a guide or a step by step on masking off a car for spraying? like where to start and where to finish?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2007, 01:38 AM

Last photo:

Here's a couple of links with some info that may help...
http://www.thebugshop.org/bsfqpnt.htm#Masking
http://www.carcraft.com/howto/24820/
Old 02-03-2007, 02:04 AM

Last journal entry: An update
Last photo:

While I never worked as a car painter i have painted lots of cars and masking is real Art,it's not as easy as you think.
First and best advice I can give is to go to the best auto paint supplier in your area and buy the most expensive tape they have.
Nothing is worse than having your tape unstick during a paint job...!!!
Second...I always use plastic auto mask instead of paper,it's faster ,comes with one edge already taped and because you are going to remask a car up to 6 times when you paint it ,it comes away clean and never leaks.
I only use Brown Wrapping paper which comes in large rolls.I go to a commercial paper supply place for that,it's cheaper than buying it from a paint supplier.
Thirdly..Never use Newspaper,it contains solvents from the printing process which WILL affect your paint.
Now the hard part...when you mask a car ,ALWAYS lay a line of tape down along the edge where you do not want paint.( I mask chrome and other bright trim before I start sanding or stripping to prevent damage) .