Master cylinder location HELP!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 05:42 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Master cylinder location HELP!!!

I bought a new master cylinder/7" power booster. The old one was bad, and undersized on my 37 Ford Tudor. I took out the old one to find out that the Ford Courier unit that was in it was a 6". I had to cut out the mounting plate that was there. I have the brake peddle assembly with the arm, and the mounting plate.It came from Speedway Motors. It is a bolt on. My problem is.. The frame work on the car was setup for that Courier. I know that it won't fit in the same sopt where the 6" was. The big questionis where are the mounted?? I have nothing under there that shows where it should go.. I think I will cut out a big section of the floor so that it will be easier to work. The body is on the frame, and the engine is in.. Thanks.. Al

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:48 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: chongqing
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Itís summertime*********

Last edited by cboy; 09-17-2009 at 07:17 AM. Reason: Violation of guidelines. Please see: general board guidelines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:52 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HUH??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:52 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
What? Banned the sucker.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 08:01 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a,,,,,,,,,,any idea what he is talking about??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:05 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Still have the problem. I will cut a section out of the floor so it might be easier to do the job.. Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:21 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NewBrunswick Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You probably are going to have build a new mount and posistion it wherever it fits best. The master cyl and booster, in my bucket are under the seat. It's what works best in your car.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:23 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NewBrunswick Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
but I don't think I would be cutting the floor out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:41 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can see it better now, and I tink I can do it all from under the car. I just cut a piece of 1/8" steel.. I have to measure it all out, and drill the holes. Just hope the 1/8" is thick enough to hold the booster and master.. Do you know of some place where I might find a cover that has tubes on it so that I can still use the remote?? Then I wouldn't care where the master sits..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 06:30 PM
cucumber1949's Avatar
T-Bucket, Corvette, Mustang
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greater Cleveland, OH
Age: 65
Posts: 507
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The bracket that holds my master cylinder to the frame is 1/4" steel, welded to the frame, with gussets welded in to provide additional strength. I work with 1/8" steel on projects here and there and I would not consider it enough to hold the master in a panic stop without some flexing. Just my $.02.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2009, 06:48 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think I have that covered. The 1/8" plate is bolted to 1" square tubbing that is welded to the frame on two sides. On the other side, or frame side. I put extensions on the bolts. They pass threw the brake peddle bracket. You can stand on that area, and it doesn't move. There is also a spot in the back of the master cylinder. I havve a small "U"- bolt that passes threw some frame work, and slips right into that notch. (without touching the master) For just in case. Still working on it though..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2009, 02:07 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,852
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 750
Thanked 969 Times in 817 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by APalusky
a,,,,,,,,,,any idea what he is talking about??
It's the chongqingians spamming the board. Disregard it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2009, 02:16 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,852
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 750
Thanked 969 Times in 817 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by APalusky
I think I have that covered. The 1/8" plate is bolted to 1" square tubbing that is welded to the frame on two sides. On the other side, or frame side. I put extensions on the bolts. They pass threw the brake peddle bracket. You can stand on that area, and it doesn't move. There is also a spot in the back of the master cylinder. I havve a small "U"- bolt that passes threw some frame work, and slips right into that notch. (without touching the master) For just in case. Still working on it though..
I got curious about this, so went and sat on the floor with a bathroom scale against the wall. I was able to push 170 lbs pretty easily. If you multiply that by a nominal 4:1 pedal ratio in a power brake system, the bracketry will see a 680 lb force applied.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:56 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: comming along
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Duluth, Mn
Posts: 652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I looked at it again, and junked the 1/8" for 1/4". Like was on there before. I have to cut it all out, but I can use the other as a pattern. I also have some 1/4" aluminum plate.. Which would be better??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:08 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,352
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 410
Thanked 252 Times in 220 Posts
1/4" steel would be the best.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master cylinder without booster? Rons1stRod Suspension - Brakes - Steering 16 11-05-2007 09:06 PM
Master Cylinder Help Needed glg97 Suspension - Brakes - Steering 2 11-06-2005 07:20 PM
39 Deluxe master cylinder adapter? MM in NM Suspension - Brakes - Steering 4 09-30-2005 03:42 PM
Confusing master cylinder ports... Externet Suspension - Brakes - Steering 2 12-08-2003 08:18 PM
Stang master cylinder Old Crow Suspension - Brakes - Steering 3 06-10-2002 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.