Maximize Gas Mileage - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2012, 01:38 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Maximize Gas Mileage

Hello: I have a 1935 Ford two door sedan that weights 3400 lbs. I have been running for years a stock 1980 Buick V6 with Turbo 350 trans, Holly 490 cfm four barrel, 3:55 rear gears, P 95/75 14 front and P225/75 15 rear. I was getting 20 to 22 MPG.

Attempting to maximize mileage I added a stock 2004R trans with no lockup, changed the rear to 3:35 and installed 500 cfm Edlebrock four barrel carb. I bored out engine 30 thou., polished and ported heads and mileage went to 13 mpg. Drives wonderful at 80. My tach doesn't work but I could hook one up.

I'm told I'm out of the power band of the V6 and lugging engine.

I want to get up towards 30 mpg. Ha Ha but I'm going to try. TA Performance can build me a V6 with aluminum heads and 330 hp. How do I determine the best build for the 2004R, what rear ratio to use and any other tricks. I don't mind considering EFI if I can do for under $1000.

I don't want to change the architecture of the engine bay by changing to V8. Not sure if 3800 or 4.1 V6 has the same motor mounts.

Any ideas. Thanks Steve

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2012, 01:59 PM

put your car on a chassis dyno,make sure the facility can measure sfc9specific fuel consumption) It will tell you how many pounds of fuel is burned per horse power produced. This will also tell you the rpm that the engine is most efficient. .38 pounds of fuel /hp is a good start,,,,determine how much power it will take to get your ride at the speed you want to travel,,,