MDF Dashboard frame - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2004, 05:32 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

MDF Dashboard frame

I have a 1991 chevy fullsize truck that I am trying to make a completely new dashboard for. This is my first time trying to build a dashboard and it has been a hassle trying to figure out a way to make the frame. I want it to have a uniform "single-piece" smooth look, but make it so that it can be easily replaced when I need to get to my wiring, and that will work with my existing mounting brackets. I've thought of using the stock brackets on the sides, and making an MDF frame that will bolt on to them, and also use L brackets to mount the top of the dash to the firewall behind the insulation. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2004, 04:25 AM
Tazz

Last photo:

OK....whats an MDF frame? I need to build and install a dash in my 64 Chevelle so I'm curious as to what your building.

Tazz

Rat Rods Rule!
Old 11-05-2004, 09:08 AM
Farfegnugen

Last journal entry: logo fun!
Last photo:

MDF= Medium Density Fiberboard .... Particle board.

The best advise I can give about building a dashboard is to sketch a drawing of what you want it to look like then measure your area in the truck...Two or three times to make sure you get all of the angles. Make a dash out of posterboard paper first then you can use these pieces to trace onto the MDF. You can use some hinges and latches or magnets to make access doors for wiring etc. under the dash. Then you can coat it with whatever you want....Vinyl, paint, woodgrain, etc.

Remember: You can always cut more off, but you can't stretch it!