metalwork issue - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2013, 10:37 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

metalwork issue

I seem to be stuck on this taillight and am a complete newbie, it needs a pretty deep flanged lip to recess the light trim into. the top is fine but the bottom half has been flattened from previous work and I need to re-create the lip. As you can see i tried to bend it best I could then use filler to build the lip up, but realized this wouldn't work well and chipped the filler away to try again. I bought a flanging gun but the die isn't deep enough. A friend of mine says I should make two small cuts in the lower corners and carefully put two bends into it with pliers or dollys then tack weld the corners back together. Just wondering if you have any ideas, I wish I could get a body guy over to do this bit for me, I'm worried it needs to be done right or will look akward forever.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2013, 10:49 PM
put up or shut up

Last journal entry: saying goodbye to the beast
Last photo: