Methods to control 700r4 converter lock up clutch ? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2012, 12:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Methods to control 700r4 converter lock up clutch ?

i would like to know how to wire up the sol/switch on the box to lock the converter can i use this in all gears or just overdrive

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2012, 06:29 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...
 
Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stupidville, USA
Posts: 1,746
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 11
Thanked 87 Times in 81 Posts
Do an on-line search under "torque convertor lock-up". There are a dozen kits out there to do this. Summit and Jegs sell a number of them and there is enough info on-linr to build your own.
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to astroracer For This Useful Post:
gmc pickup (08-29-2012)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-2012, 08:05 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Still running strong
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakehills Tx
Posts: 607
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 45 Times in 43 Posts
I made my own using a relay,and a vaccum switch from a 86 Chevy truck and one wire going into the trans for 4th gear lockup only.I've got it all written down at home,if your interested.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to dogwater For This Useful Post:
gmc pickup (08-29-2012)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-2012, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
when i put 700r4 in gear engine dies, nothing plugged into tc lockup connector. i ohmed out connector and got 0 on all three terminals, and putting 12v to it does nothing. it sounds like lockup may be on all the time?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 52 mike For This Useful Post:
gmc pickup (08-29-2012)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 02:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52 mike View Post
when i put 700r4 in gear engine dies, nothing plugged into tc lockup connector. i ohmed out connector and got 0 on all three terminals, and putting 12v to it does nothing. it sounds like lockup may be on all the time?
mike i think my auto onlyh shifts 1 2 3 dont seem to go into 4
if the lock up is on all the time would the engine stall when up stop ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 02:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52 mike View Post
when i put 700r4 in gear engine dies, nothing plugged into tc lockup connector. i ohmed out connector and got 0 on all three terminals, and putting 12v to it does nothing. it sounds like lockup may be on all the time?
just been told that if converter is in lock the engine will stall as there is no slip when you at stop
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 07:13 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Still running strong
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakehills Tx
Posts: 607
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 45 Times in 43 Posts
If you have no voltage to the sol.valve then it shouldn't be locked up. Why it stalls in gear,I don't know.If you have normally open pressure swtichs or switch they will act like an open curcit. I don't know if you know that the pressure switches on 700r4 come with two kinds, n.o. & n.c.I compleatly rewired mine using n.o. 4th gear pressure sw. only & n.o. sol. valve,both are grounded to the case.Didn't use the heat sensor so its only one wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 07:27 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52 mike View Post
when i put 700r4 in gear engine dies, nothing plugged into tc lockup connector. i ohmed out connector and got 0 on all three terminals, and putting 12v to it does nothing. it sounds like lockup may be on all the time?
The Trans is designed to only Lock the TCC/TorqueConverterClutch in 2nd, 3rd, & 4th gears. If it's Locking up in 1st/Low or Reverse, either the TCC is damaged or you have a Lockup TC installed in a Trans that has been converted to use a Non-Lockup TC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 10:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
my trans is rebuilt and i've only put a couple miles on it, i shifts fine thru all gears, but when i stop the engine dies. like i said there are no switches hooked up to tc lock up plug. also curious there are 7 detents in my overdrive steering column out of a chevy van, but i count only 6 positions on my tranny when i hooked up shift linkage. shifter on column won't go into 1st gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2012, 10:56 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bowtieoverdrives sells a smart little complete kit and it's very easy to install. Just installed it on mine. Have not fired it yet, but the theory of the design seems solid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 04:00 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 52 mike View Post
my trans is rebuilt and i've only put a couple miles on it, i shifts fine thru all gears, but when i stop the engine dies. like i said there are no switches hooked up to tc lock up plug. also curious there are 7 detents in my overdrive steering column out of a chevy van, but i count only 6 positions on my tranny when i hooked up shift linkage. shifter on column won't go into 1st gear.

P-R-N-O/D-3-2-1

If you can't get Low/1st your shifter Linkage isn't adjusted correctly & may be trying to go into 2 gears at once.
What Trans did the Chevy Van have in it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 09:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
well the column has od shifter so i'm assuming it was 700r4. when i drive it shifts 3 times so it starts out in 1st.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700R4 / just got a torque converter lock up kit Dawn Transmission - Rearend 2 11-04-2011 04:58 PM
700r4 lock up control switch queston 63ChevyII.com Transmission - Rearend 17 09-07-2011 08:38 PM
700r4 lock or unlock t converter JDS539 Transmission - Rearend 3 07-24-2008 10:35 PM
700R4 converter lock up Rough Transmission - Rearend 3 12-28-2006 01:18 PM
700R4 with slipping converter clutch CleviteKid Transmission - Rearend 1 08-28-2004 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.