Mighty Demon - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2008, 08:29 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Mighty Demon

Ok I have to start off with saying im new to carbs. I know how they work and everything but I havent been around them long enough to get any practice tuning them. Im 21 and carbs arent really my day and age
I have a 650 Mighty Demon on my 383 I just built for my 69 camaro. This was my first engine build/project. I cant seem to get the thing to stop running rich. Like smokey watering eyes feel like your about to pass out rich. I had the idle air screws out 1 1/2 turns from being all the way in as a starting point. I know these carbs have the "idle ease" screw at the bottom of the air cleaner stud hole. Will this help me with mixture though? Fuel pressue is like 6psi. I was thinking about turing it down a tad. I figured I would post somethin here before I did anything else b/c I know these are popular carbs and Im sure you guys have had some expiriences w/ them. Ive also heard these carbs out of the box can be great w/ little adjustment to get running right or they can be a real pain in the ***. I just dont wanna lean the thing out. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2008, 08:48 PM
BLOWN 357

Last photo:

Idles rich

It sounds like it could be the power valve.If the cam is big enough to effect engine vacuum and it has the wrong power valve it will have an excessively rich mixture.I would highly recommend buying a book on power tuning carbs.Ofcourse this could be just one of many potential problems.
Old 04-13-2008, 08:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BORTI