Mixing bolts and studs on main caps - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mixing bolts and studs on main caps

I am building a 383 SBC and have all the machine work complete and nearly all my new parts ready for assembly.

I am going to use a new Milodon stock oil pan and windage tray. I will need to either get an installation stud kit from Milodon (6 studs from Summit: http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku) or get a full set of ARP studs with the windage tray provision in order to install the windage tray.

Do any of you experienced engine builders see any problem mixing studs and bolts on the main caps?

It seems logical to me that one should either go all studs or all bolts. I am concerned about possible different expansion rates and strengths.

This is just a high performance street engine going into a Street Rod ('36 Coupe) with a T-10. This engine will not see over 6 grand as it will be limited by a MSD 6AL.

If anyone has any knowledge about this I would appreciate reading your post, I just don't want to make a decision then have regrets.

Harley Monster

    Advertisement

Last edited by Harley Monster; 12-31-2007 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just spoke to the machine shop that did my machining and they recommend all studs or all bolts because of the different torques involved.

Any other comments?

Harley Monster
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:09 PM
CNC BLOCKS NE's Avatar
CNC Blocks Northeast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NORTHEAST
Age: 54
Posts: 1,455
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Changing over to studs does create a small problem as there is more clamping force with a stud and sometimes it will change your housing bore size.

If we change over we automaticly line hone the blocks as it takes the guess work out later.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The block has already been align bored, but with the bolts, not the studs. Do you think that would make a difference?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:43 PM
CNC BLOCKS NE's Avatar
CNC Blocks Northeast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NORTHEAST
Age: 54
Posts: 1,455
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
I think it would change things but your machinist can measure before and after and make that decision.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:25 PM
Old does not mean dumb
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Tennessee
Age: 72
Posts: 98
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the mains are already honed, why not go to the Chevy parts counter and get six 1969 to 1976 Z-28/ LT-1 windage tray main bolts. Then you well not have to worry about the size..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,389
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Chevrolet did just this factory on TBI 350 4 bolt engines cause of the windadge tray. they have 2 diffrent torque specs, 1 for the bolts and another for the studs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temecula, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
matt, do you have the years those engines were produced so I can find more information on them. Do you know the torque specs for the bolts vs the studs?

Harley Monster
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:51 PM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
CNC, if the owner of the block brings in a set of to replace the inner bolts and uses bolts in the outer holes can you still line hone the mains accordingly?

What is most common when using splayed caps?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,389
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley Monster
matt, do you have the years those engines were produced so I can find more information on them. Do you know the torque specs for the bolts vs the studs?

Harley Monster
'87- 1995 are the same and all 4 bolt. I'm not sure but If I remember right, the studs are 65 and the bolts are 75... they use the studs in the center caps.

I don't have the torque spec, 65 and 75 is what I remember but any hayes or chiltions for a mid 90's Chevy truck will have this info. prolly available at a library
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2008, 07:08 AM
CNC BLOCKS NE's Avatar
CNC Blocks Northeast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NORTHEAST
Age: 54
Posts: 1,455
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazin72
CNC, if the owner of the block brings in a set of to replace the inner bolts and uses bolts in the outer holes can you still line hone the mains accordingly?

What is most common when using splayed caps?
On splayed caps we buy them for Kenny at Program Engineering and we have to use studs down the center as the caps are the Nextel cup caps and are appox. 3/16 of inch taller then a stock cap so we have to use studs down the center and bolt on the outside.

The blocks are line bored for the new caps and finished with a line hone to size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building A 302 Chevy Scorpio Shaping Flow Hotrodding Basics 6 01-16-2007 05:55 AM
re-using rod and main bolts? Blob Engine 22 10-21-2006 08:07 AM
Main Studs Not Long Enough Canadian Charlie Engine 5 02-09-2006 11:25 AM
Bolts & Studs... NXS Hotrodders' Lounge 5 01-25-2006 08:14 PM
Main caps - studs or bolts? camaro80 Engine 6 02-06-2005 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.