Model A axle ? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2011, 05:53 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Model A axle ?

Hi, Would it be safe to use a model A front axle on a car with a V8? I am new to hot rod cars I have been into Bikes and just picked up a model A. I feel like a kid were everything is new and learning is fun!
Thanks,
Dave

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-30-2011, 06:13 AM

Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 8

Probably - and that's a conditional maybe.

Is it bent, have cracks, badly pitted, have wallowed out king pin bosses? and this is just to name a few problems.

Personally, and of course my opinion I wouldn't use an 80 or so year old front axle with as many good aftermarket versions ready to bolt in place with something better then the original wish bone suspension, even modified which may have its' own set of problems. Then you can easily update the stopping power to decent brakes

Why not update the suspension(and brakes), pulling the worn OEM stuff and sell it to a restorer who will drive his car at 45 mph with 40 horsepower.
Old 08-30-2011, 06:36 AM

Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 27

model A parts