modern or old engine to fit on my 1937 Chevy 4 door deluxe - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2014, 06:20 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

modern or old engine to fit on my 1937 Chevy 4 door deluxe

Hello, I'm restoring a 1937 Chevy 4 door Master sedan. It's my first project and I would love your input on what motor I should adapt to my car.

I don't want to restore it to original settings, I want a nice, functional car that I could use every other sunday and not have it break down on me.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated =)

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-18-2014, 07:21 PM

Last photo:

If it was me I would look for a 4.8 LS engine and put it in your car. I put a 5.3 in my S10 for less than I could build a 300 hp motor. The 4.8 makes just a little less hp and will get decent gas mileage plus it will burn this nasty gas we have to buy.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Indian113 For This Useful Post:
clwhoops44 (02-20-2014), Fishburn (02-19-2014)
Old 02-18-2014, 08:01 PM

no points/no carb,make it a driver
Old 02-18-2014, 08:20 PM

Last photo:

I have a 38 Plymouth Coupe and I attend lots of car shows and rod runs. In my opinion, you want to have a nice modern drive train, suspension and braking system. You don't need to go all fuel injected or anything but believe me, the cost of restoring old systems is not any cheaper than converting to modern equipment and you will be much happier.
The Following User Says Thank You to 38project For This Useful Post:
Fishburn (02-19-2014)
Old 02-19-2014, 09:06 AM
48 Plymouth Club Coupe

Last photo: