Hot Rod Forum banner

modern or old engine to fit on my 1937 Chevy 4 door deluxe

24K views 51 replies 21 participants last post by  beertracker 
#1 ·
Hello, I'm restoring a 1937 Chevy 4 door Master sedan. It's my first project and I would love your input on what motor I should adapt to my car.

I don't want to restore it to original settings, I want a nice, functional car that I could use every other sunday and not have it break down on me.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated =)

#4 ·
I have a 38 Plymouth Coupe and I attend lots of car shows and rod runs. In my opinion, you want to have a nice modern drive train, suspension and braking system. You don't need to go all fuel injected or anything but believe me, the cost of restoring old systems is not any cheaper than converting to modern equipment and you will be much happier.

#5 ·
Well, I am going to come at this from the other direction. I have a 48 Plymouth coupe and I am running a 57 model 230 flathead in front of a 53 model R10 Overdrive. I can cruise at 70 all day long. Not to mention that it is repairable with simple hand tools. No computers, no special tools needed.

Add to the above the when I pull into a show or cruise and pop the hood, I am not parked between 47 more engines just like mine. I can tell you that when folks walk by they do a double take on the flathead and stop to comment / ask questions. I say be unique. If you do go with a standard ho-hum 350 / 350 then do something to make it stand out.