Hot Rod Forum banner

Mopar engine in my 47 Dodge pickup? Or GM350?

3K views 26 replies 15 participants last post by  poncho62 
#1 ·
I'm doing some research on Mopar motors and tranny's because I'm almost ready to pull the trigger and get my 47 pickup going. As i have looked, it seems mopar engines, which I have no experience with, are alot more labor intensive to set up then my 350/350 GM combo that I am currently running. I would really like to keep my old Dodge with a Mopar/Chrysler motor, but as I do more more research, it seems that for a newbie like me it might just be a better option to go 350 with 700 r4. I'm looking for overdrive tranny and 400 hp or so motor like the vortec I just built...my first build BTW
I know this particular subject causes some emotions to flare, because mopar should have a Mopar engine etc, but im on a budget and ill be making a restomod with mustang 2 ifs, gm style column...so technically I'm not keeping all mopar anyway. So here it comes... thoughts? Or ideas on how to keep mopar?

#3 ·
This is a very basic question that comes down too...how much money do you have to spend.

A 440 rebuilt with a fairly mild cam will be 500hp and won't cost 12K either, not sure where that BS comes from, good donors are motorhomes which typically have low mileage for their age.

Any SBC will be cheaper to build but its also not 440ci in size either, could also get a 454 from a newer GM truck with FI too.

At any rate, that truck is a long way from being ready for a powerplant.

#6 ·