Mopar wiper motor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2010, 07:55 PM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 63
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mopar wiper motor

I'm helping a friend wire up his wiper motor on a 1967 Plymonth GTX. The motor has three wires coming out of it. They are in the OEM connector Brown, blue and red. Blue will park the wiper when power is applied to it. Red is high speed and red & brown is low speed.

Trying to run it with a Painless switch # 80173 switch

I don't see how it will work with this switch. Hoping someone can post a wiring schematic or shed some light on how it should be wired.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 08:19 AM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 563
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 71
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Seems like the right switch to me...

Are the terminals on the back of the switch marked? The info in the link you provided indicates that the terminals are probably marked P,W,1,2, and 3.

If that's the case, wire it as follows:

Fused, key-on power goes to the "P" terminal,
Blue Park wire to the "3" terminal,
Brown Low speed wire to the "2" terminal,
and Red Hi speed wire to the "1" terminal.

And of course, if you have a windshield washer pump, it gets it's power from the "W" terminal.

Hope this helps...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:39 AM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 63
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Joe, that's what I thought at first too. But to get low speed, both terminals 1 and 2 have to have 12V on them. The switch supples 12V to either/or, but not both at once???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:55 AM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 563
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 71
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Sorry...I guess I misread your post. You can still make it work if you use a relay, or maybe just a diode. I'll post a diagram tonight unless someone beats me to it.

Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 11:09 AM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 63
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
A diode would be the easiest. I was wondering if there was a different switch available. I googled this am and didn't find anything that sounded like it would work.

Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 11:04 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 563
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 71
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
The proper switch would definitely be the best way to go.

The only ones I could find were on Ebay:

link 1
link 2

You might be able to connect a very large diode between the red and brown wires, but it will get hot, and it might overheat or melt something. There is also the problem that for the first fraction of a second when the motor is turned on, there is a large current spike that might blow the diode. The more I think about it, the diode is probably not a good idea.


Good luck...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2010, 11:08 PM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 63
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
You don't think a 10A diode would work? I don't know what that motor pulls when it runs??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:20 AM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 563
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 71
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
The motor probably doesn't pull more than 3-4 amps on low, but for the first 1/10th of a second it could draw 20 or more amps. I'm not sure if the diode could handle that initial surge or if it would blow instantly. You could try it, maybe it will be fine. I just don't want to say conclusively that it will work, because I'm not sure.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:23 AM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 63
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I think I'll try it and if it fails I'll just install a relay and be done with it. Thanks for your replys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring New Port wiper motor to GM column bnewsom Electrical 1 08-25-2007 06:43 PM
wiper motor wiring 37 plymouth coupe Electrical 4 07-27-2007 11:30 AM
Wiring a Volkswagon wiper motor wheel-7 Electrical 4 07-01-2007 06:18 PM
Chevy AD Truck Wiper Motor Question bigfred1958 Interior 1 11-12-2004 04:49 PM
wiper motor for 37 ford Sedan bgal Electrical 1 12-21-2002 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.