Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - More garage wiring questions
View Single Post
Old 06-07-2005, 08:12 AM
Hot Rodder, and Proud of it

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

First off let me say: DAMN, HOW BIG A WELDER YOU GOT? Anyway, now that that is out of the way, let me tell you a few things about me. I am presently not a licensed electrician, but in the past I held both a journeyman’s and a Master electrician’s license in a very large metropolitan city. A career change found me letting these licenses lapse. My knowledge of the National Electrical Code (NEC) is a little out of date, but it is sound. Although some things I have done in my own and friends shop might not follow the exact letter of the NEC as now written, I have never done anything I worried about, or in my opinion would jeopardize anyone’s safety.
That being said, I have questions:
1. Where your garage service is fed from, the primary dwelling, I presume. Does the panel there have bottom or “flow through” lugs at the bottom of the buss to accept wire lugs? Most residential panels don’t, but it would be cool if it did.
2. Do you have a space for a 100 amp breaker in this box, possibly replacing the 40 amp, two pole you have now?
3. Is the garage separated from the house, or attached? If it is detached, the NEC now says it must be treated as a separate structure for the matters of grounding. (a good thing)
4. You need to get yourself a book. “Ugly’s Electrical References” Distributed by Burleson Distributing Co, 3501 Oak Forest Drive, Houston, Texas 77018. Your local electrical distributor might have one. Great electrical book for laymen.
5. Now the important stuff: your 1” PVC conduit will hold two # 2 or 3 #3 THW or THHN (THHN recommended) wire. This will give you a rated 100 amp or 115 amp capabilities. (all NEC ratings are based on THW) using the #2 will require you setting a new ground rod at the shop location for Neutrals and grounds (do it)