Most popular question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2006, 06:47 PM
adtkart@aol.com

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Most popular question

One of the most popular questions on this board appears to be, "What does it cost......?" I have seen this question ask for most every repair or modification that there is, and am still amazed when I see them.

The easiest way to determine what it costs for body/paint repairs or customization, is to go get estimates from where you plan to have the work done. Every area has different labor rates and practices when it comes to auto work. Back a few years ago, in the area I worked as an insurance adjuster, which included SE Virginia and NE North Carolina, the body labor rate was ranging from $28 to $36 per hour. That was at equivalent shops as far as equipment and work quality, doing general body repairs and paint. I have seen cases where a repair was $400-$500, or more, to be repaired in one area as compared to another, just because of the prices, and practices in those areas.

Keep in mind, before you post a question like that, the fact that the person that is answering it on this board is most likely not the one doing your work. If you ask me how much I would charge, it wouldn't matter a thing to the person that is doing the work. When I price a job, I don't care what someone else is willing to do it for, as that has no bearing what I will do it for.

Aaron

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-22-2006, 07:03 PM
ex biker, now hotrodder

i always go with the cheapest, and make them stand behind there work, thats just me, that wont work with a show car, but i do a lot of work my self