Motor mount material thickness - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2009, 05:58 PM

Last wiki edit: Wheelbase, track width, and differential measureme...
Last journal entry: Upper P/S bracket made
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

Motor mount material thickness

What thickness flat stock should i build my motor mounts out of? 1/4" seems like overkill, im thinking 3/16" would be ok--seems like most oem mounts i have seen are that size--or there abouts, 1/8" just doesnt seem like enough to me, but other than useing motor plates in the past, i have never built a set of bolt on mounts before. So what should i use?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2009, 06:26 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: 36 Ford painting
Last photo:

Mine are 1/4 inch, using different thicknesses could depend on the design of the mount, are they flat, gussseted, triangular, lots of varaibles. What type of abuse would they see? Off road, drag racing, stock?
Old 03-21-2009, 06:31 PM

Last photo:

Mostly just plain old street use but yea, i will get on it. Basically what i am thinking of is plate on the engine and on the mount rubber, and vertical triangle shaped pieces in between the two. Sort of boxed shaped if you will---but this could change as i get into it. Motor is a small block 383 chevy built for low end grunt.
Old 03-26-2009, 09:45 AM

Last journal entry: 1954 Chevy Truck Project
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

3/16 should be plenty thick.
Old 03-26-2009, 10:03 AM
WFO

Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1616

Quote: