Moving my compressor (electrical) - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:43 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,664
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Moving my compressor (electrical)

Hi All,

You talked me into replacing my PVC airlines, so I'm gonna go one better and move my compressor out of the shop to my back garage where it'll be in a cleaner environment. It's a 7.5 HP, 240V, 29 cfm, with 80 gal tank, currently on a 5 ft run of 10-2 wire and 30A breaker. The new placement will take 60 ft of wire and a simple switch box (keeping the original breaker as-is). Does anyone have a chart that shows wire size vs. run length? I'm thinking 10-2 should still be OK even at 60 ft...

Russ

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2007, 09:08 PM
gator412's Avatar
1955 2nd series Chevy Pick Up
 

Last journal entry: Body work and U bolts
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Maria, Taxifornia
Age: 54
Posts: 282
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just installed my compressor, which sounds a lot like yours. Here is the link to the thread. Hope this helps.
James

What size wire?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:42 AM
CDJr's Avatar
Experienced Amateur
 
Last wiki edit: Automobile body and frame rotisserie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Age: 50
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just guessing, that motors gonna be somewhere around 30-34 RLA, so I would use at least #8 wire with a 50A breaker. I bet that 5 feet of #10 got hot when your compressor ran before lol. Cuz Im sure it was loaded! And Im surprised it didnt trip that 30A breaker occasionally. Do you know exactly how many amps the motor draws?

P.S. Congrats on ridding yourself of the PVC
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2007, 05:16 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,664
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
I couldn't find RLA specs on the motor and it's turned so that I cannot see the tag. The run load is 24.3A. I think I'm gonna use 6-2 w/G just to be sure. I found this write-up for wire sizing, but it specifically precludes high-load motors. Shows 8ga safe for 55A and 6ga safe for 75A. My calcs show a VDI of 7.5 using 30A on 60ft of wire.

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 04:46 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,664
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Bought 60ft of 6-2 w/ground @ $1.79 per (ouch!) total of $108.00. The 8-2 was only $0.20 per cheaper or $12.00 less... Wiring was almost as much as the 1/2" copper piping!

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 10:49 PM
CDJr's Avatar
Experienced Amateur
 
Last wiki edit: Automobile body and frame rotisserie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Age: 50
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
YIKES!!! Thats high alright. Probably cuz theres as much copper in the wire as the pipe lol. Good luck with it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mouse smell swvalcon Interior 18 03-14-2012 07:11 AM
Will moving springs inboard cause poor handling? Ripped Suspension - Brakes - Steering 1 11-20-2006 05:47 AM
Moving cars adtkart Garage - Tools 11 06-20-2006 04:46 AM
My buddy is moving... schnitz Hotrodders' Lounge 13 11-26-2005 08:39 AM
is any one elses site moving slow? rat_guerue Hotrodders' Lounge 24 10-01-2004 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.