MSD Ignition questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MSD Ignition questions

Yesterday we began running a couple initial engine checks on our new toy to make sure it was all good to go. One of the things we did included disconnecting the plug wire from the coil to the distributor cap and cranking the engine. During this test the coil arc'd to the firewall, but we didn't think anything of it.

After we were all done with tinkering, we went to the start the car and there is nothing coming out of the msd 6-btm box. We followed the instructions on MSD's website and have determined that the box is not working.

My question is, is it possible that this arc could have somehow shorted this box out? Is there some sort of fuse or reset switch anywhere? We are just a little shocked that this component could have gone bad so easily.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:57 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,640
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 364
Thanked 858 Times in 820 Posts
the power has to go somewhere. I fried an ignition once myself,lucky for me the dealer replaced it for me. Same thing applies to small engines, if the ignition is not properly handled during tests they burn out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:59 AM
blwilliams's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chander Arizona
Posts: 142
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
I suppose anything is possible.
Kind of sucks for it to go bad like that.
How long did you crank engine over with the coil arching to the firewall? I have had the same happen (arch) on occasion but for very short intervals with out a problem.
Any chance you had a non filtered battery charger hooked up to your battery while you were cranking?
I believe all of the newer MSD's have a diode in the primary 12 volt circuit to prevent burn out from unfiltered DC voltage, but possibly not.
Is this a new or used box?
Best of success getting your problem fixed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:09 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,379
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 138
Thanked 323 Times in 299 Posts
40000+ volts to ground..
I'd think ya that hurt it..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It was only about a three second crank. There is no power going to the coil from the orange wire coming out of the MSD box, and when you try to crank it there is no spark from the coil. Any other troubleshooting ideas? Is there a way to bypass the box to see if the engine starts then?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:39 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,379
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 138
Thanked 323 Times in 299 Posts
if the box is out of warranty.. open it.. it might have fuse on the board..
you might get lucky..
you getting a pulse out of the pickup in dissy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 11:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is it a good idea to open up the box? I've read other forums where people have suggested not doing that..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 11:27 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hopewell, Va
Age: 62
Posts: 1,232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
MSD Ignition Help!

The MSD ignition box has a fuse inside. I had a 6AL box that somehow blew the fuse when I was swapping motors. I called MSD and they told me where to send it for repairs. They checked it out for me and replaced the fuse, I think they charged me $35.00.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 01:45 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Posts: 3,322
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 117
Thanked 158 Times in 130 Posts
The internals of the box are dipped in something to protect them from moisture and vibration, there is nothing in there that you can replace or repair.

Installation Instructions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:33 PM
blwilliams's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chander Arizona
Posts: 142
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
40,000 volts to ground.
Sounds like what is happening at the spark plug.
I believe your box should have a white wire as well as a a green and purple with a plug to go in to your distributor or crank trigger. White wire is for a points style distributor.
Blake and orange are to the distributor, small red wire to switched ign source. 10 gauge red and black to a direct 12 volt battery source.
I will presume your ignition is wired per the above.
Hook up a spark plug to the coil wire and toggle the 12 volt switch source on and off. If your box and coil are good you will get a spark.
I do not believe you will see 12 volts at the coil.
If no spark, verify 12 volts at the 10 gauge wires.
Try subbing a known good coil. Continue to toggle the on off switch to the box. If still no spark, pretty good chance something happened to your MSD box.
Any chance you can get a MSD tester to try.
Like already stated, I don't think there are any parts inside that the average guy can replace or test.
Send it in to MSD or tech west for repairs.
While searching for the techwest web site I found this link: http://techwest.ipower.com/page2.html. It might be of some help to you.
Best of luck in finding your problem.

Last edited by blwilliams; 11-24-2012 at 09:37 PM. Reason: Grammer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:51 PM
Greg T's Avatar
www.krusinklassics.net
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Escanaba, MI.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,160
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 21
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Should have grounded the coil wire, NOT removed it. The excess gap caused a huge load on the box. The larger the gap the harder everything has to work. Ground the high tension lead to the fram or engine block when cranking.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2012, 10:48 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hopewell, Va
Age: 62
Posts: 1,232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
MSD Ignition Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaronk227 View Post
It was only about a three second crank. There is no power going to the coil from the orange wire coming out of the MSD box, and when you try to crank it there is no spark from the coil. Any other troubleshooting ideas? Is there a way to bypass the box to see if the engine starts then?
Did you check the small red wire for 12+ volts? Is there a red LED light lit on the box with the key on? The small red wire should be going from the box to the ignition switch. It turns the box on and off. BTW what is the year, make, and model for the car? If it a newer car check the fuse box to see if ignition fuse is blown.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2012, 12:03 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Posts: 3,322
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 117
Thanked 158 Times in 130 Posts
The box has to be wired as MSD say, especially the 12 volt feed and ground.
I ran dedicated wires for my box right to the battery in the rear of my car.
Nothing else takes power or is grounded from those wires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ignition wires MSD or f.e. ACCEL to MSD pro-billet & digital-6?? Berres Electrical 4 11-27-2009 02:17 PM
Msd Ignition questions old fords Electrical 5 08-14-2008 01:25 PM
help with msd ignition fireman147 Hotrodding Basics 11 06-04-2008 03:24 PM
MSD Ignition. Skunk Electrical 2 07-10-2005 06:26 PM
msd ignition??? chevyelc81 Engine 2 06-12-2002 02:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.