My 32 plans keep changing..Input welcomed! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2008, 08:24 AM

Last journal entry: 32 Ford cabriolet conversion/windshield
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

My 32 plans keep changing..Input welcomed!

I am going with the old late 50's hiboy style..or trying to.

As most other states, there is a mandatory fender law here. No, I have no knowledge of fenderless cars getting ticketed and forced to go through a full inspection, but I don't want the hassle of that possibility. If you get a nasty officer, he "can" require you to get a full inspection at the dreaded "main" inspection station, where no rod would ever be allowed on the road again ...or you may get lucky in only going to a satellite inspection station where it is not strict.

I was planning on bobbed original 32 rear fenders with the cycle fronts made from old spare tire covers just like was done back in the day.

I scored some great finds at a big swap yesterday

Original 32 fenders for a bargain price

Tire bands in different widths and diameters.

Look at the cool old striping...now that's classy

The weird thing is that the 41-48 Chevy tailights were bought in random pieces in the last few weeks at other swaps & ebay...and now I end up with fenders that originally HAD the same lights.

Well, I held up one fender to my car and I really like the curves of a full tail 32 fender, plus I just can't bear to hack up these survivors

So, I wonder if it would look stoopid with full rears and cycle fronts??....or should I just restore the rears and make the fronts, BUT just keep them on-hand in case I get stopped and need to go get inspected??