My 350 turbo just stoped working. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My 350 turbo just stoped working.

it wont go in to any gear? i have a 71 step side and the trans was fine until the other day after i drove it for about 30miles.when i was ready to leave i heard a light rattling sound and when i went to put it in gear, "nothing". it won't go in any gear.i had to tow my truck home i checked fluid and made sure the shifter was hooked up to the trans.when i got home i noticed the vac line was off!. so i checked the flex plate and made sure the t.c. was bolted and every thing looked fine.i ended up changing the filter and fluid, i put the vac line on properly and i still get no responce from trans.i don't know what else to do but replace the trans.i dont understand how it would just stop all of a sudden.it was running fine it wasn't slipping or anything like that.any advice will be greatly appreciated.aloha and thank you for reading my post.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: crosby texas
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you splined out your torque converter these old 350 were bad about that replace convertor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2012, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
would it just give w/no symptoms or sings? the tc i have on trans is blue, my friend told me its not the original tc. should i go get another one? this is good news for me, i think i may have a extra tc.thanks for replying.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2012, 11:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: crosby texas
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when the convertor goes out it gets to a point it can no longer hold that is why in s truck most people uses a 400 t/q iys stronger better for pulling and mild performance use on street if the convertor you have is good use it if you have to buy one a 400 cov is stronger
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:14 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Lyme, Ct.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is possible that the manual shift shaft has come loose from the shift mechanism (so-called rooster comb) inside the transmission. It can be checked by disconnecting the manual shift linkage from the manual shift arm on the side of the transmission. If you can move the shift arm without feeling the detents for each shift position it is disconnected inside.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryT
It is possible that the manual shift shaft has come loose from the shift mechanism (so-called rooster comb) inside the transmission. It can be checked by disconnecting the manual shift linkage from the manual shift arm on the side of the transmission. If you can move the shift arm without feeling the detents for each shift position it is disconnected inside.
thats one of the first things i checked.its hooked up.i acually just got done pulling trans from motor.thanks for your response and any more would be great.thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedub
when the convertor goes out it gets to a point it can no longer hold that is why in s truck most people uses a 400 t/q iys stronger better for pulling and mild performance use on street if the convertor you have is good use it if you have to buy one a 400 cov is stronger
i found out the trucks trany and tc has been beefed up for hauling race cars.that being said would you think its my tc? if so the extra one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i just bought a used trany and its to short.what a idiot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2012, 03:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
long to short

you know you can take your short shaft n make it a long shaft. i did it but its not easy. you have to take them apart.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2012, 04:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by officer31
you know you can take your short shaft n make it a long shaft. i did it but its not easy. you have to take them apart.
by take apart you mean go into the tran? if so that might be to much for me to handle.what exactly needs to be done? i appreciate you're respond , thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2012, 11:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: honolulu
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
now what? will it hold

ok i decided to swap output shaft and it went well(i hope) . seemed easy enough take shaft from my trans and put it in the other, well after a few clips and disks walla my shaft is switched.now i go to install trans, i line it up, i sink the bottom left and right bolt in to the engine and when i went to sink the other four bolts NOTHING, the others dont line up.
my question now is can i drive it with just two bolts screwed in? any advice would be appreciated.aloha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My camaro's headlights have stoped working! hcker2000 Electrical 4 03-04-2008 06:15 PM
just stoped by to say hi darren black Introduce Yourself 2 02-02-2006 09:35 PM
turbo 400 not working 49dream Transmission - Rearend 4 03-05-2005 07:18 PM
Walmart Stoped Flushing Auto Tranny, "I am back yahoo" Auto-Part Transmission - Rearend 2 02-22-2004 08:10 AM
speedometer stoped working 70camaro Transmission - Rearend 1 02-19-2003 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.