My audio amp! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:14 PM
eM-K's Avatar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: dublin,NH
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My audio amp!

I'm trying to hook up my 400 watt audio amp.. I think i've done everything right. I have it hooked up to my battery.. the remote cable attached to my stereo.. and now all i have to do is the ground cable. I cant get the red "power" light to come on.. even when the ground cable is touching metal... it will give a little spark and the power light will ficker for a second and then not do anything. What am I doing wrong!! I need to get this working!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:37 PM
crazy larry's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 2,298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scrape the paint off the metal, use a self tapping screw to secure the ground to it, ought to do it.

make sure where ever your mounting the amp, is grounded well, some trunks aren't as grounded as you'd think. paint, body seam sealer, etc can affect the ground ability ....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:37 PM
cuztomcarbuilder's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greenville,SC
Age: 45
Posts: 66
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amps

Take a spare wire and jump from the battery terminal to the remote turn on of the amp and see if it comes on. This will tell you if the amp is ok. If it does come on then you need to check the head unit. Sometimes there are 2 blue wires at the back of the head unit. One goes to the power antenna and the other goes to the amp. If there are two blue wires for remote turn on, you will find that the power antenna wire only gives you 12 volts when the radio is on and no power when the CD player is on. If you have only one wire and it is listed as AMP turn on, And if the amp doesn't come on when you jump it then you have a bad amp. If it does come on when you jump it but not with the head unit, then you have a bad head unit. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2004, 04:32 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Duel power

Doc here

I think customcarbuilder and I are saying the same thing...But here goes...

There is a duel power input on high watt amps...One provides the high power/current to operate the linear op amp amplifier chips, the other is relay and low current switching...

This closes the relay contacts internal the amp to deliver the high current to the audio amp chips.. and operate line level pre amps.

You need to have both of these hot at the same time in order for the amp to turn on.

One will be large gauge and probably marked 12 volts, or battery.

The other will be small (18 gauge) and may be marked Remote amp, power antenna, or Acc...I couldn't really give you wire color, but I would go with Red, yellow, and/or blue...most popular. They can be different from amp to amp so you may want to check your install sheet.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2004, 08:22 PM
5.0 freak's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 81
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How old is the amp, I had a similar problem in my amp and is was because the power pre-outs were fried. it would turn on, for a few seconds then turn off. Aslo you sayed that it would spark then turn off, check your fuse in the engine compartment, usually when it sparks like that you blow your fuse,(In my case anyway) Get some 40~ fuses for it and it shouldn't happen as often if thats what the problem is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.