My First Practice Session with the Tacsew - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2007, 12:47 PM
Acoustic Rock ... for real.

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

My First Practice Session with the Tacsew

I finally got to play with my new Tacsew machine today. LOL!!! Wow!!! This ain't no Singer homey job, is it? Good grief - it really takes off!! I have to get use to this for sure ... I'm gonna be practicing for days before I mess with any leather.

I can see it's not easy to crawl with an industrial machine ... but I'm a musician; I'll learn how to play this thing.

I did do a test run on my armrest patterns with some cheapo vinyl ... tweaked 'em up and they're good to go ... so that was some progress at least.

There's one problem I'm having and need some help with: When I sew a seam, the stitches seem to be too loose -- if I pull on the seam, I can see light; a space between the two pieces of material. Is this because of that cheapo vinyl? I even sewed 3 layers to 3 layers and still see a space when I pull on the seam.

I tightened the thread tension but that didn't seem to do anything -- what do I do about this?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-19-2007, 03:48 PM
mostly confused

Last journal entry:
Last photo:

Jealous, jealous, jealous, wish I had that problem ..........wish I knew how to help!! I have looked at upholstery sewing machines and whew kinda pricey. I have often wanted to try and find a used machine and try to teach myself but even a good used machine is pricey. Good luck let us know how it turns out. Brian
Old 02-19-2007, 04:22 PM

Last photo: