my headlights dont work - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
my headlights dont work

all of a sudden they stopped working. i checked the fuses they seem fine. i checked the bulbs and they seem fine. i checked the highbeam switch and connector and put new connector on because they seemed corroded but they still dont work. all the other lights work-dash, tail lights, brake lights, and the yellow ones in the front. just the headlights dont. not even the highbeams work. btw if it matters i drive an 81 camaro

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:47 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,638
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 41
Thanked 542 Times in 491 Posts
The power feed wire at the headlight switch is divided into two wires where it plugs onto the switch, one side for headlights and one side for all the rest. Maybe the switch has gone bad, or maybe you have burnt a fusible link wire. You will have to get a test light and start probing for power in and out of the headlight switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 10:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i just checked the connector on the back of the headlight and its all melted on what seems to be the ground prong. it was still connected but the casing was melted. what would cause this? and why would make both headlights go out?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 11:32 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Corroded connectors cause excessive resistance. Excessive resistance causes heat which melts the connector housings. You need to check every part of the headlamp system and clean or replace as need be all the connections. You may even have some melted wiring that needs to be replaced.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 11:41 AM
buggmann's Avatar
build it like you like them
 

Last journal entry: buggmann stilling looking
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ?????
Age: 36
Posts: 274
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
buggmann

i had a 85 that did that the head light switch
was bad and it made the wires melt like that
the main power wire that went in to the switch
was bad and took the rest out take a look at the
head light switch and the plug and go from their
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 12:08 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 35
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Headlights

If you have to replace the lights I suggest you look at this site and see if you want to go this way. I just got mine yesterday.

www.xenonlink.com they are play and go HID lights. What a difference in the 2 buld's. It is almost like day time when you switch them on and they use a lot less power than the standard Halo's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i replaced the headlight switch and the headlight connectors and they still dont work. they had 2 wires going into each prong and the replacement only had one wire for each prong so i just split the wire and attached each wire to half the wire i guess u would say but that seemed like it should work but still no headlights. where should i go from here?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:23 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 35
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Have you tried a voltage meter to see if you have proper power to the headlight plugs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2009, 11:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
no i havent. thank you ill check that today
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2009, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
does anyone know where the fuse for the headlights might be? i checked all the fuses but someone told me sometimes you cant really see the break
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
<a href="http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2133608390068017067jYiNFM"><img src="http://thumb7.webshots.net/t/62/162/6/8/39/2133608390068017067jYiNFM_th.jpg" alt="fuse box"></a>


which one is the headlight fuse?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Joe G's Avatar
It's a dry cold.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 618
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 99
Thanked 52 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18camaro
does anyone know where the fuse for the headlights might be? i checked all the fuses but someone told me sometimes you cant really see the break

Headlights do not have a fuse. They have an auto-reset circuit breaker built into the headlight switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 11:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
o. well i replaced the switch the headlight connectors, checked the wires and the all seem fine i took out the fuse box as much as i could and looked around it. and i can find any burnt wires. does anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 12:07 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Do you have access to a volt/ohm meter and know how to use it? If so you need to confirm you have 12 volts at your headlamp switch.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 03:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i got a multiuse tester at autozone and put it on volts and i got between 8.68 and 12.3 volts from the power wire going to the switch. but then i tested the switch by running a wire from the power to the prong it goes on the touching the tester to an outgoing wire and got .03 i think. i dont know exactly how tht all works though. im not positive how to test all that but the switch is new
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
central valley engine work Echofive Engine 1 10-06-2004 02:22 AM
Stuff I work on at work :) esears Hotrodders' Lounge 6 09-29-2003 02:08 PM
Ever work on the impossible? johnsongrass1 Hotrodders' Lounge 16 08-20-2003 02:59 PM
camaro headlights chevcamz28newbie Electrical 4 08-17-2003 04:43 PM
83 olds Cutlass No Headlights Dans83Olds Electrical 9 08-16-2003 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.