My T-400 Tranmission Will not go into any gear. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2012, 03:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My T-400 Tranmission Will not go into any gear.

I recently dropped a SBC (350) into my 1980 camaro, the transmission had been sitting out of the car for about 8 months, But when i drove it last, it shifted fine, so why it would stop working out of the blue is beyond me.
I did remove the oil pan and change the gasket/filter, but I thought I was very careful not to touch anything else.

The car is on jack stands
The only thing that works is park. At first I thought it was the shift linkage But then when i ran the engine, and moved the lever on the trans manually into the gears, NOTHING happens.

Reverse or 1st,2nd,3rd. Nothing
Driveshaft is seated correctly
the fly wheel spins, the torque converter spins.
When I installed the torque converter I was very careful to make sure I got the "Two clunks" so to know it was seated properly

The vacuum line from the (edelbrock) carb to the modulator is set up correctly, and there is plenty of FRESH automatic fluid in trans as well.

There is an electrical plug on the driver side But i dont ever recall it being set up even when it was driving?
Is there something Inside the transmissions Im suppose to connect?

This is making me crazy, Ive been working on this car forever Im so close to driving this car and the amount of frustration is becoming unbearable.
There are very few people I could ask for assistance.

Please lend some knowledge, Im 21 and have much to learn.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2012, 04:03 PM
RWENUTS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 1,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 50
Thanked 202 Times in 191 Posts
Did you put enough tranny fluid back in?
Flywheel spins! Torque convertor spins! Seperately or togethor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2012, 04:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No they spin as one unit, Torq Conver is bolted to the flywheel

there is plenty of fluid in transmission
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2012, 04:48 PM
RWENUTS's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 1,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 50
Thanked 202 Times in 191 Posts
DRain it time!
Check the filter again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2012, 07:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: south carolina
Age: 34
Posts: 67
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Pull a transmission line and start engine put into gear and see if it sprays fluid out if it if it dont then its front pump if it does could be torque converter is bad but I would start with front pump as u dont have to pull it to check it and u sure has plenty of fluid mine dry took 12 quarts with the transmission cooler
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2012, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: south carolina
Age: 34
Posts: 67
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
And I have never seen a torque converter spin without the flexplate or flywheel bolted to it. if its doing it separate thats a new one for me and would love to know how thats possible
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2012, 07:49 PM
Dennis W. Parks
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I would say to check and recheck the tranny fluid level. Basically, the tranny works based on fluid pressure, so if the fluid is low, you ain't gonna go.

Dennis W. Parks
author of automotive how-to books
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2012, 08:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well I feel retarded

Thanks guys so helpful!

I checked the fluid levels again, but i didnt account for the fluid in the intercooler + fluid in the torque converter not to mention I have an After market B&M (deep) pan. SO there was my problem of why it wasnt moving/ going into gear.

So After adding more fluid, shes driving. And i was VERY excited! haha

But now it feels like there is a big power loss, like im having to rev too much to go a certain speed. fastest ive gone is about 20 mph.
I have a Bored .40 over 350, she should be puttin out 400+ Hp

Didnt get on it, because the last time i gave it a hard throttle The Vbelt FLEW off! It wasnt a big deal since the car was in Neutral and i was setting up the throttle link cable, but i wouldnt want that to happen while im driving!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
350, gears, sbc, th400, transmission

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turbo 400 only has 5 gear positons 85 k5 mud truck Transmission - Rearend 6 05-31-2009 09:17 PM
tranmission swap m2summit Transmission - Rearend 3 03-07-2008 06:03 PM
400 searching for gear price Transmission - Rearend 1 07-18-2007 11:17 AM
T-400 governor gear breaks off 63droptopnova Transmission - Rearend 7 05-30-2007 06:10 PM
TH 400 low gear conversion JPhil Transmission - Rearend 17 09-06-2006 05:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.