Hot Rod Forum banner

Narrowing a 9" ford rear end

13K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  S10xGN 
#1 ·
I am narrowing a 9" ford housing in my shop to go under the Imperial. I borrowed a narrowing jig. I have never done this particular activity before but I won't let that stop me .The jig came with no instructions.

My question is, what is the tolerance for misalignment of the bearing bore in the housing end, both radial and axial. I looked all over the 'net and found nothing other than a few people saying that if you could get the axles in and the wheels rolled, then it was OK. :confused: I know it should be a little closer than that.. (I also know the tolerance isn't 0.00",so it must be something)

Also, I am working with a rear end housing with the old style big,(3.150" OD), bearings and the heavy axle tubes. (1/4" wall)
The size of the housing end requires the end of the axle tube to be counterbored to allow the housing end to be inserted. I guess this isn't a problem with the thinner wall thickness tubes.

Has anyone here had any experience with doing this. The od of the housing end is 2.665 and the ID of the tube is 2.55 or so. It is a seamed tube so it is out of round as well as not concentric with the alignment jig bar. I have a feeling that I am going to be hogging it out to fit with a die grinder to fit but I thought I'd ask here and see if anyone had another suggestion.

The one rear end shop around here that does that service told me they cut the insert end off, and just buttweld the end back on when they narrow them. I guess he doesn't realize that is where the seal is supposed to seat. I'm glad I am not taking it there.

Thanks for reading this, Mikey

See less See more
#2 ·
When i've done it, I shot for .015 max and found that even stock was off that far. I just cut the tube, hacked off what I didn't want, and welded it back together. I did machine the inside/outside and so there was a slip fit. Those bearing are pretty conforming.