Need advice with panel beating - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2005, 01:00 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Need advice with panel beating

I need to make a repair section for my car. Its a hidden piece behind a fender so it won't have to be real pretty. The part is made of unobtainium or usually rusted to non-existence on parts cars. This is for a European 72 Ford Capri. Its the rusted "foot" looking bulge in the picture. This is an example. On my car you would be looking into the passenger's floor compartment right now.

I figure this would be a good opportunity to learn how to beat a panel. I started making a wooden form for it. I have zero experience in beating panels. I have limited tools and its not worth the expense to purchase a bunch of special tools to make this one part.

I've got a set of ball peen hammers in 5 sizes
Cheap body tool set with assorted hammers and dollies
a big sheet of 20 gauge metal

Any tips or how to for someone who doesn't have any fancy tools?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fender3.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	4179  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2005, 01:55 PM
Hotrodders.com moderator

Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3

Make a sandbag and get one of the soft faced mallets...and start beating..use a slapper and dolly to get the wrinkles out...

try looking at www.metalmeet.com for some more info..some of the serious metal beaters live over there so to speak..

OMT
Old 03-11-2005, 12:42 AM
Ferguson Coachbuilding

Last journal entry: '41 Chevy sedan
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0