Need to bury an electric wire - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinger
You're going to miss them night-crawlers when fishing season opens.

Considering how much power was leaking off into the ground they were some really expensive Night Crawlers!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2011, 01:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 92
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The very first thing you should be doing about this is to call your Authority Having Jurisdiciton(AHJ) to discuss the issue. Depending on the point of delivery as determined by the AHJ, they may take care of the problem free of charge.

If you are going through with your own work, get a copy of your AHJ's service requirements to ensure you meet their standards with your work. It would be very frustrating for you to get all done only to find out your AHJ and/or state electrical inspector doesn't approve and you have to dig it all up again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2011, 06:15 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,411
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 107 Times in 95 Posts
^^ ya right

my question is: why not bury a 100 amp service out there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2011, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogre
^^ ya right

my question is: why not bury a 100 amp service out there?

Well this is just a small side shop and will never need much more than a couple of light bulbs, a small bench grinder and a few hand tools. As far as inspection there is not much point in making it perfectly legal as long as it is safe because the whole thing is actually little more than just an extension cord from my main shop. This thing is located on a farm and the building it is going to would be considered an out building or shed even though it is insulated and has a concrete floor, it is mostly used to park tractors and such in. All I was trying to do was bury the wire out of harm's way and prevent power from leaking off into the ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2011, 07:01 AM
Old Fool's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: spokane,wa.
Posts: 1,347
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
If I was going to dig a ditch to bury the cable, I would spend the few dollars extra and put in pvc conduit. next time it goes south, all you will have to do is pull a new conductor, not dig a new ditch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:19 PM
hduff's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Craft Room Update
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 40
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I use UF cable underground splice kits from the local electrical supply house. The newest ones have a corrugated plastic sheath cinched on with zip ties that contains a clear, sticky goo. Not cheap, but never a problem with them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2011, 07:34 AM
cal1320's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: central FL
Posts: 257
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
The following is completely illegal and I don't recommend it. (but it will work)

Slide a 12'' piece of 1'' PVC over one side of the break. Wire nut conductors together and fill wirenuts with silicone. Slide PVC over splice and pump entire PVC sleeve full of silicone. Note location of splice for any future needs and bury.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2011, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
The wire has long since been buried using these as per the suggestion from one of the members here,

http://www.elecdirect.com/catalog/53...Fctw5Qodhjtuow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2011, 03:01 PM
bigtread's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 24
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electrical work is not a hobby, hire an electrician
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2011, 04:46 PM
Powork's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Independence La.
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
used those splice kits for our continues duty fire pumps over the side of the boat @ about 10' below surface never had one fail, should work great for your app.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on wire size for Holley electric choke grobb284 Electrical 5 04-13-2009 02:42 PM
Help me wire my ELECTRIC FANS! DarknessSpawned Electrical 8 12-11-2008 09:43 AM
Fuel pump, electric choke and windsheild wipers on same wire sexypizzaman Engine 8 06-05-2008 07:23 PM
Electric Choke Wire GCD1962 Electrical 4 08-18-2007 08:25 PM
OEM electric fan wire colors sedan_dad Electrical 0 06-12-2002 02:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.